DENTAL EMERGENCY PREPAREDNESS

in #thl7 years ago (edited)

While prepping we often overlook a very vital part in our prepping needs... Dental Emergencies.

Most of us in our lifetime have experienced a dental infection. Once that pain kicks in, we are on the phone calling any dentist we can to try and get it dealt with as soon as humanly possible. Now, imagine what it would be like if there wasn't a dentist to call. You are in excruciating pain and no way to get relief. Either you have an Emergency Dental Kit or you are digging out dirty pliers to pull that tooth. Even so, you are still left with a residual infection that must be dealt with.

Here is where some preps can make all of the difference.

I have compiled a list of preps you should consider having on hand in the event you cannot get to a dentist.

Remember to take care of your teeth now. Prevention is key.

Please let me know of any items that you feel should be added to this list and why as I want as complete of a kit as possible. Thank you all.

Feel free to copy and paste this list FOR PERSONAL USE ONLY.

DENTAL EMERGENCY KIT LIST

“Where There Is No Dentist” book by Murray Dickson

PAIN RELIEF/INFECTION:
Zinc Oxide Powder-Mix with Benzocaine and oils and rub into cotton pellet and pack into cavity
Cotton Pellets
Clove Oil- Pain and for its Orac value
Benzocaine
Ibuprofen
Strong Alcohol Like Whiskey, Brandy, Everclear to swish with
Mouthwash
Wintergreen Essential Oil-Pain and Inflammation-Topically on outside of mouth or under tongue or in a capsule (Never on an open wound)
Idaho Blue Spruce or Idaho Balsam Oil- Pain Relief (Take under tongue or in a capsule)
Copaiba Essential Oil- Inflammation and Pain
Thieves Essential Oil Blend- Infection and some for pain
Purification Essential Oil Blend (external only)- Infection
Peppermint Essential Oil- Inflammation and to make other oils more effective
Antibiotics containing Penicillin: Penicillin, Amoxicillin, or Amoxicillin and Clavulanate (Augmentin)
Non-Penicillin Antibiotics for those with Allergy to Penicillin: Erythromycine, Clindamycin (Cleocin), Metronidazole (Flagyl),
Syringe with Curved Tip with Saline Rinse-To flush out cavity or wound
Hydrogen Peroxide-To flush out cavity or wound

TOOLS/ADDITIONAL ITEMS:
Various Dental Extractors- For upper front, upper left back, upper right back, lower front, lower left back, lower right back
Various Dental Elevators
Dental Fog-Free Mirror
Metal Scaler/Pick/Scraper
Metal Curved Scaler/Pick to pack gauze into tooth/wound
Metal Curved Tweezers to pack/remove gauze
Disposable or Metal Scalpels
Hemostat for holding needle
Absorbable Sutures
Sterile Gauze
Hemostatic Gauze (if bleeding gets out of control)
Gloves
Masks
Alcohol/Betadine Wipes
Cotton Applicators (Like Q-Tips)
Tongue Depressors
Hot/Cold Packs -Both reusable and disposable
Temporary Filling
Cap Bonding Glue
Floss/Floss Pics
Dental Wax
Denture Repair Kit
Salt
Toothpaste
Toothbrushes

If you don't want to be scrambling to find all of the above items, you can go to
http://store.doomandbloom.net/medical-and-dental-kits/survival-deluxe-dental-kit/
and this kit contains almost all of the items on the list. It does not contain most of the essential oils listed and a few other items. If you are in a group, you could probably buy in bulk supply on most of these items and split the cost.

I am going to save money to purchase this kit. I do already have all of the oils listed and some of the equipment so I do have a small kit to have in the event something happens before I have this kit in hand.

I am not affiliated with doomandbloom.net or Dr. Joe Alton or his wife, nurse practitioner, Amy Alton. I just love their information they put out there and the kits they offer. They have over 1,000 videos with wonderful information for free on their website so go check it out. It costs nothing and could save lives.

Please let me know what you think of this kit and again, if you have items you suggest adding, please list them in the comments below and WHY you feel they should be added.

Thanks everyone and God bless!

Sincerely- Oily!

Sort:  

Had my 6th dental visit in two weeks today, dry socket this time. I never thought much about dental prepping before now but this is a big deal.

Yes, it is definitely a big deal. I hope you are feeling better very soon! I know a dry socket is very painful!

What would you recommend for developing cavities or refilling holes in teeth? My worry is sealing in bacteria, thus developing an infection... I suppose pulling the tooth might work but I wonder if there is something you can do BEFORE reaching that point.

Thank you for sharing this! I've added it to my list of essentials!

Although I have not witnessed this myself, so I cannot attest to the validity of this...Thieves essential oil blend has been reported to help reverse cavities at the beginning stages. I am not certain this is accurate, but may be worth a shot in a poo hits the fan scenario. I have also heard that fresh whole milk swished several times a day may do the same. Again, I cannot attest to that report either. Thieves is a great antibacterial blend. I don't see how it could rebuild enamel though. I would definitely be cautious of filling a cavity long-term without getting all the yuck out of it first.

Thank you. I forgot to tag you. Ugh! Gotta get back in the groove of things! Lol!

Good post - good prepping.

I've been steadily building up my dental (and other medical) supplies.

Also been making sure I get regular checkups and hygienist visits.

It is also worth getting the Where There Is No Dentist book :

There seems to be a free pdf version online but if you can buy the book direct from Hesperian (rather than Amazon) it helps their work in developing countries.

I just ordered their combo package of the Where There Is No Dentist and Where There Is No Doctor and saved money in the process of helping them so THANK YOU for that link!

Oh great to know pennsif! I didn't realize by purchasing it on the hesperian site it helps their cause! The book was first on my list. It truly does make a world of difference to have what you need on hand in an emergency. Besides, you know how it is.....the pain comes late at night or on the weekend when dentists are out of office, so having some things to help tide us over until they are in office sure helps!

antibiotics an important dental prep if a dental infection needs to be killed. ps (sorry I was drefragging my hard drive last night so I missed out on your hangout, defragging takes forever...)

No problem! We missed you, but I understand. I am sorry I wasn't at your chat this past Monday. I was so exhausted from our trip as I didn't get any rest while there. The bed was not comfortable in the camper. Going to have to do something different. Yes, antibiotics are definitely on the list. Almost nothing worse than a toothache or earache!

Good list to get some "affordable dental coverage". LOL

Dental is a big thing for me as I was an RDA long time ago. Many peppers seem to forget about oral health, super good you brought it up!

Thank you! Are there any items that I did not include that you feel would be necessary? If so, why.

You are welcome! Cavit is a must! It's a temporary filling material. And a bite block, many people will not keep their mouth open due to pain when extracting specially without anesthetic.

Excellent suggestions! I will have to add those to my list and preps! Thank you!

Love the list you put together! I'd also add liquid children's Benadryl and Milk of Magnesia, or the generic equivalent to make Magic Mouthwash. In case of a viral illness that causes mouth sores, or canker sores on the inside of cheeks, liquid benadryl mixed with milk of magnesia can soothe & numb the mouth.

Oh so true! Thank you! I am so sorry! I just saw this! I upvoted but I guess I read it half asleep! Haha! Great suggestions!

Man, I never even thought of this, and I don't have great teeth! So I am glad you brought this up! One thing I didn't see on the list, which can be used for pain, is Clove and Clove Oil. Unless you came across something that said this was false info! Lemme know. :D

Clove oil is excellent for dental pain and has a high ORAC value. It's up there on the list for sure. I actually like the one in the little Red Cross kit. May be labeled Eugenol. Very wonderful stuff for sure!

I didn't know it had a different name! Thanks! :)

You bet! Yes Eugenol is the natural painkilling chemical constituent in Clove oil. 😉

Excellent post Oily! Thank you for putting this together! Resteemed!

Thank you! I am spending the next few days catching up on everyone's posts. You are next, so get ready for comment overload!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66530.34
ETH 3251.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.36