Stress and its benefits

in #health6 years ago

Stress and its benefitsOne of the popular subjects I get to talk about is stress and its benefits because this is a ubiquitous factor that we all get to experience.

There are two kinds of stress:

Distress
Bad stress, or distress, is when the tension we enjoy becomes too strong for us and it makes it seem like there is no relief or a big weight on our shoulders. You feel your neck tense as well as the muscles on your back and head. This stress leads to poor decision making.

Eustress
Eustress is the good stress that motivates you to continue working. Stress can be a motivator and provide incentive to get the work done. This “good stress” is where creative tension pays dividends and you continue to be happy, motivated, challenged and productive.

I read a book called Better Under Pressure by Justin Menkes and he says in it:
“Pressure that you are unprepared for is bad for you… there’s a lot of research that shows actually a moderate amount of pressure is critically important for human satisfaction and gratification…”

Some effects of distress are:

Some effects of eustress are:

You can utilize stress to positively impact your performance. It is all about how we handle stress, how we see it and the stories we tell ourselves in our mind.

What do you think about this? How do you handle stress? I will be writing about it more soon.

Also on our website: https://emancipatedhuman.com/stress-and-its-benefits/

Sort:  

I never knew that there were two different types of stress. I feel like I handle a lot of distress. I usually handle it with breathing/light meditation which I learned in therapy. I always viewed stress as a bad thing so knowing it can be a good thing is interesting and I want to learn more.

thanks! it can really fuel life and keep it interesting. it seems like you have a good handle on it already

I also use this type of technique, when I am under strong stress.
I relax my body and by mental concentration I calm down.
I am new here at Steemit, and I am preparing a guide to teach how to relax and take control over our body.
Regards, Aaron Mendez

I look forward to seeing some of your work.

very intteresting.... I ennjoyed reading this,awsome work, i upvot and follow, waitinng ur next great work mate

its a pleasure follow for sports tips

Is it very hard to handle??
I want to try this

it takes practice. you need to switch your thoughts...
here's a formula that works every time:
thoughts + feelings = emotions.
if you are feeling jittery, you can either think about something exciting or something fearful to get a different emotion.

for instance... if you are anxious, you are probably thinking of something fearful and feeling jittery.
if you feel excited, you are thinking about something awesome and feeling the jittery sensation. its just what we focus on.

Looking forward for more stress-related articles @emancipatedhuman.

I personally think that stress is good for us and it actually makes us grow. I hate the people who transform stress into an excuse for why they are lazy, unproductive, and unfulfilled. :)

im absolutely 100% with you. that's why we need to teach people how to deal with it positively.

Indeed. Really curious about your next articles on stress.
Good luck!

well i can't handle stress:( when i feel overstressed i just start cry;(

meditate. it helps raise your threshold.

I thought stress is a bad thing...you changed everything...😂😂😂

glad to be the paradigm breaker

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 55450.66
ETH 2943.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.07