You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Understanding Calories for Weight Loss

in #health7 years ago (edited)

I was always taught to finish the food on my plate as a kid. Not a good lesson for kids or to set them up for good life long habits. My fiance always eats just t enough to feel satisfied, but HATES the feeling of being full.... the results speak for themselves.
BSP_3190.jpg

Sort:  

Congrats on the engagement @digitaldruid, my wedding is this year! Good motivation to stay in shape for me.

Yeah I was the same - told to everything even when you really didn't want to. We get a lot of that pressure passed down to us in the UK because of rationing during WWII. My grandparents forced my parents to eat everything available because during the war they never had enough.

My fiance is very good at stopping when full too! Maybe it's a fairer sex thing too :p

Yeah, men (especially when teenagers) pride themselves on having near insatiable appetites, women, not so much.....

I guess it's a perspective thing when it comes to diet and nutrition. Can definitely understand the WW2 rationing driving parents to encourage "healthy" appetites for their kids after that era.

Congrats on your wedding too! Perhaps we should trade notes on how to maintain sanity while planning it!

Not sure I've worked out the staying sane bit yet ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62214.82
ETH 2429.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68