You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Struggles with Social Anxiety & Trying to Figure Out What HELPS.

in #health7 years ago

I feel you... I wrestled with a couple of things when I was in my 20's and early 30's; not just social anxiety as an issue, but also the more debilitating "avoidant" personality disorder which pretty much resulted in my becoming a self-loathing shut-in with a completely twisted sense of self.

Although I have had to present to groups and give workshops, I really can't stand doing it. I am evidently quite "good" at it, but I have never been comfortable with it.

As very much an introvert, I am quite comfortable with people in one-on-one settings-- that has rarely, if ever, been an issue. But the moment there are more people, I start feeling like I have to "split myself" order to keep up with what is going on, and after a while everything becomes "noise soup" and all I want to do is head for the nearest exit.

Needless to say, I was USELESS at the "club scene" when I was in college!

Sort:  

I hear you! I'm not really sure where I'm at now, but I'm trying to find a balance. I can totally see myself becoming a shut in. There are weeks and weeks that go by that I only see my kids and my husband. I hate leaving the house... but never really thought about the 'why' behind it.

I enjoy one on one time with friends, but as you said, much else than that is just 'noise soup' and I find it exhausting.

Thanks for the support!
@byn