Diet and Health 1: Intoduction - The Relationship Of Diet To Health.

in #health6 years ago

Copy of Copy of @davidtweats.png

I was recently listening to a radio program on the relationship between diet and health, and it reminded me of what I have learnt about food during the last couple of years. It's too big a subject to write fully on here (I will go into it more in future posts), but I just wanted to introduce the topic.

During that two years I lost over thirty pounds in weight, and while weight loss was a major factor in following a particular diet, another encouragement was the positive benefits for health - not just physically, but mentally as well. My own experience was that I gained more energy, got relief from knee discomfort, and needed smaller clothes. I went from struggling to walk up several flights of stairs because my knees hurt and I had no energy, to now being able to run up three flights at work. By the way, I am in my late 50s.

One thing in that radio program that really struck me was an interview with Dr Michael Mosley, who has become well known as the author of books on intermittent fasting and eating for low blood sugar. He said that he had had some tests and was told that he had Type 2 diabetes. His doctor said that he would have to start a course of medication. He refused the medication, saying that it would only lead to increasing doses, eventually leaving him dependent on insulin. He knew there was evidence that Type 2 diabetes could be reversed through diet, and that is what he aimed to do. He was successful, and now shares his message in his books. My mother had Type 2 diabetes, and my intention is never to have it - diet makes that possible. More on that in later posts.

Do you know what foods are good, and which can cause you problems?

How can you reduce the chances of being tempted to snack?

How can you make your diet both healthier and more enjoyable?

I can honestly say that I have never had such an enjoyable range of meals - and they are all healthy! And some of what I discovered may well surprise you.

In later posts I will look at the good and not so good foods, and what they can do to your body. By knowing that, and following some simple guidelines, we can improve our health and help ourselves to live a fuller, richer, more active life.

That's my goal. Maybe it's yours too?

Sort:  

Health er jonno diet sobsomoy onek proyojon hoy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 61585.79
ETH 3005.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68