Dear Diary: No Noticeable Aftershocks From Yesterday's EarthquakesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #health5 years ago (edited)

Screenshot_20190207-164038_1.jpg

I remember one of the greatest and strongest earthquakes I have experienced and that was from way back July 16th 1990 earthquake which magnitude 7.7 in the Richter scale. It was indeed strong but our house took it like a baby on a hammock.

During that time I was already home from my high school and was only a freshman with all my subjects I finished already at 2:00 PM and before 3:00 PM I was already home making some coffee because I am already addicted to coffee and I want to take my day's fix of caffeine.

Then the earthquake struck, my coffee spilled a bit and one of the plastic bowls dropped to the floor from its rack because of the intensity of the rocking motion. My mother is complaining of dizziness while everything was shaking.

I didn't felt any fright at that time though because it is just a "weird shaking of the earth" as I thought. That is all about what concerned me because our house didn't suffered any damage. Then we tuned-in to the news and learned about the extent of the damage as many people died from collapsed buildings and structure everywhere especially in the northern part of the main island.

But yesterday's earthquake is a bit weaker than that and it was brief as well as it lasted below 15 seconds only but is enough for some structures and buildings to collapse and sadly some people died as a result.

Our house too took it well so I am thankful to God about that. This house maybe old but it is still standing strong and sound. I was really expecting earthquakes like these because the Southern part of the country already had its share of the jolt a few months ago.

I didn't notice any aftershocks but maybe there are some that is not really a thing to be concerned about. Now that the earth here had relieved its tension I am also relieved that maybe there will be no more earthquakes going to happen in the near future.

Sort:  

Hi @cryptopie I am glad you are OK...... I just heard about this earthquake tonight on Japanese NHK TV . I had to check and see if you were close to the epicenter. I hope you had a good Easter, stay safe..... @silvertop Mike :)

Hi @silvertop we are near the epicenter but me and my family are fine as well as our houses here. Some buildings are damaged in the next province though.

Thats so good to hear you are safe, hopefully the aftershocks will be small.
Your house must be strong, they were saying the Philippine's are on the ring of fire......

I hope you and your family will always be protected by God from the earthquake.

Someone's sitting in the shade today because someone planted a tree a long time ago.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 58495.77
ETH 2579.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44