Survival Gear for your BoB Bug Out Bag as an intelligent prepper for Emergency Disasters ; knives . . .

in #health8 years ago (edited)

My previous articles have been about a sort of hobby, it is not quite an obsession (of course those around will tell you it is true I am totally obsessed about being a prepper) but reality says I am just trying to be prepared...

You local government has you as a citizen and runs a day to day business of trying to give society the framework in which to prosper within. When things goes wrong there is a timeline of events, someone must recognize the issue, contact someone else, who decides what to do etc. Personally I never watch the television so my local nuclear reactor might have exploded so unless I hear the BIG BANG I will probably never know, unless a friend rings me or it interacts over the internet. I mean if the web goes dark I will always try and find out where my net went offline ! ! !

Simply I am saying no one is going to be able to help you simply because you are to remote or you have to many neighbors . . .When you are one of 9 million people simply no one can assist you in the short term, you need food and shelter but especially and essentially water, Water and WATER for everyone for at least seven days. You need water in your location always for 7 days at least. Usually when a water pipe is damaged or contaminated it is seven days before repairs are fixed, that is one week ! ! !

So now you know without water you are dead and understand the needs to keep hydrated daily; let us talk about knives ! ! !

A machete is a great self defense tool for cutting, chopping and digging; so while a machete is a great tool it is sometimes a bit to obvious for daily carry or survival. Most States allow you to open carry any sized knife, but do you really want to give that impression? I certainly like the low key laid back appearance, I like to stay under the radar instead of calling peoples notice to me . . .

stmknifemachetesword-146183__18091597.png

No I am not obsessed with knives in fact I own about seven knives of which two are multi-tools. I prefer to not have a huge collection of anything; myself, I prefer to simply buy the most highly recommended do anything type of tools. The knives you are looking at here are simply the greatest knives ever made in their class ranges, why have 20 knives when you can simply just own the BEST ! ! ! Save your gold by buying the best of quality ever instead of different types of cheap mass produced junk . . .

IMG_204612b746.jpg

I am going with the thought that if you are reading this you are fairly smart and can understand these knives are very different from each other. So let just speak quickly about them, The BIG knife is a KaBar BK2 survival knife, it is able to do anything, yes it is a heavier knife, it is a 1/4 inch of solid metal. You could literally break rocks with this knife, in a survival or emergency situation you need the best knife ever, this is it the BK2 is literally the AK47 (gun) of knives @ US$90 you simply must have one. The handle is removable for fire tinder or fishing supplies note the paracord, paracord and ducttape = essentials ! ! !

IMG_2047105679.jpg

The paracord strap is designed to loop around your thumb, it is not to make you look like a soldier; but rather to give you control of the knife if you choose to tighten this loop more securely. But its main reason is to simply prevent you from dropping the knife if you have sweaty hands or the handle of the knife is wet . . .

IMG_204811cab5.jpg

This is the middle knife a MORA Sweden knife this is such a highly recommended knife even if the TANG of the blade does not completely go into the handle, it was designed as a military light utility knife. It is the best you can buy in its utility range. It is a smaller light survival knife and super reliable; nothing comes even close at TWENTY dollars ! ! ! Note how you cannot drop the knife if it is looped over your thumb, it simply dangles close to hand for you to regrab. . .

IMG_20491960d6.jpg

Alternatively in a boat (dropped knives tend to SINK) or climbing etc you could carry the (folding) Benchmade ADAMAS 275 Combat Survival knife. No one ever recommends a FOLDING knife for SURVIVAL or extreme duty ( except me ! ). Let me just say the Adamas is the greatest primary survival knife ever. This is precision engineering and it should be for US$ 175 but part of that goes to SUPPORT Army Rangers welfare. Never loop an open fixed blade knife to your wrist like this, but the Adamas is spring loaded to stay closed and locks open. The pivot point begins to break at 800 pounds of direct pressure; no idiot could ever get 800 pounds of force applied to the lock ! ! ! Simply you would not likely ever have an issue with the Adamas 275 . . .

Plan for the WORST, hope for the Best ! ! !

What is your survival plan for your family and especially in a house-fire ? ? ?

Thank you Pixabay for the images : )

Who are you networked with ; )

Here are two previous posts about Survival and EDC and SHTF stuff : )

https://steemit.com/health/@crok/whats-your-survival-plan-what-do-you-have-ready-for-the-unknown-emergency-are-you-skilled-in-dangerous-situations

https://steemit.com/life/@crok/so-whats-your-survival-gear-checklist-this-is-my-emergency-bob-bug-out-bag-but-it-is-actually-more-a-bib

Sort:  

One thing every bug out bag should have is a way to purify water. Could be Iodine a Life Straw or a makeshift distiller.

The blue bottle in the other post via the link is a life straw water bottle, five hundred gallons of clean water ! !!

Plus my gear can physically filter water, chemically treat water or purify water by boiling ; water means life...

As yet I am unable to find a reliable portable way to remove chemicals like fertilizers or pesticides from untreated water ; but I continue to seek such knowledge . . .

Thus I pursue my hobby (no it is not an obsession) and have fun while making myself more self sufficient and resourceful !

I am a Spyderco guy, always a fan of great steel.

Yep I prefer one do anything knife so I get really good with the one tool. The Benchmade ADAMAS 275 knife is AwEsOmE ! ! !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61800.05
ETH 2496.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64