You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Tox-Blog #5: Coprine: Don’t drink and eat those mushrooms!

in #health6 years ago

Thanks for this post!

My husband foraged for mushrooms as a kid in Poland, and I foraged occasionally with friends in California, and we used to forage regularly where we lived in Florida. Now that we're in Tennessee, we've joined the Cumberland Mycology Society, in order to learn more about our local mushrooms, edible and otherwise.

Although I have always heard and read that inky caps are edible, I have NEVER read that they should not be taken with alcohol, so I really appreciate this post, and will make notes in our mushroom books!

Which also makes me wonder, as friends in Florida foraged a few years back, and despite carefully identifying all the mushrooms they found, wound up seriously ill after the meal. I'm guessing wine was involved, so it is entirely possible that these were among the mushrooms they foraged.

Thanks again!

Sort:  

Which also makes me wonder, as friends in Florida foraged a few years back, and despite carefully identifying all the mushrooms they found, wound up seriously ill after the meal. I'm guessing wine was involved, so it is entirely possible that these were among the mushrooms they foraged.

That might definatly be a possibility. But he/she recovered well?

Yeah, last I heard they were all still alive and kicking, so since this was several years back, they survived.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61185.73
ETH 3012.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84