The Reality of Being Alkaline on the Road

in #health6 years ago

Alkalinism is my life, but while being on the road this diet has proved to be more challenging than I imagined. When I have a home to return to I always have good spring water, a fridge full of organic fruits and veggies, a pantry stocked with ancient grains, and all my kitchenware (blender, cast irons, pyrex baking dishes, bamboo spoons, etc). On the road I often don't know where I'll be staying that night, it might be a place with a kitchen or it might be the back of the Kia Cerato, this makes food prep nearly impossible and cooking super difficult.

In addition to the unknown of where I will be each night Australia has proven to be a very difficult country to find fresh organic produce! (I was very surprised by this and if any Aussies have suggestions about where to find organic produce, please share). At this point I have been to countless organic stores in Victoria, New South Wales, and Queensland, probably between 15 and 20, which is insane considering I've only been in Australia for about three weeks. But of all these organic stores only two have had a substantial produce section. Most of the stores only have one small fridge with a small assortment of veggies (rarely any fruits). And often the veggies they do have aren't even alkaline, things like beets, spinach, big tomatoes, and carrots.

I know that to many health conscious folks and vegans it might seem crazy that we wouldn't eat these vegetable, but after doing research and watching Dr. Sebi's videos I fully believe in his findings and the mucusless diet (the alkaline diet). My body feels slower and sluggish if I eat large amounts of foods that are not of Dr. Sebi's approved foods list, so I do my best to only consume alkaline foods. (See my previous post for a full list of the approved foods). Foods that are not on the approved list consist of high levels of starch as a binder. Alkaline foods are naturally occurring, thus don't have starch and the body can easily absorb the nutrients and minerals in these foods benefitting greatly.

Since cooking is difficult due to our nomadic way of life and finding fruit and consistent produce is a challenge Chicho and I eat A LOT of salads. We keep it simple; some combination of lettuce, arugula (which Aussies call rocket), onion, cherry tomatoes (if we can find them), bell peppers (which Aussies call capsicum), cucumber, and avocados. What goes in the salad depends on whatever we can find that is both alkaline and organic. Woolworths, a large chain grocery story here, almost always has organic lettuce, onions, cucumbers, and avocados. I make our dressings from oil (olive or sesame), tahini, coconut aminos, lime, salt, and onion powder. If we have hemp seeds or walnuts we will top the salads off with them. If we can find fruit we will snack on that too.

Buuuut with that being said, sometimes I cheat... either because I'm hungry or can't find ANY produce whatsoever or we are with other people who want to go out to eat. When I do cheat I try my best to eat at organic vegan restaurants. In an earlier post I mentioned Earth to Table located in Sydney, one of the best restaurants I've ever come across; it is raw, organic, and vegan and it was quite easy to find food that was 90% alkaline. The next restaurant to catch my interest is located on the Sunshine Coast in Coolum Beach: Earth Cafe!

Earth Cafe is also a raw, organic, and vegan restaurant with a wide variety of foods ranging from pancakes, salads, wraps, nachos, smoothies, and treats like brownies, cakes, and "cheese"cakes. I treated myself to raw nachos with house made chia chips, walnut and mushroom meat, guac, salsa, coconut sour cream and cashew cheese. Definitely not alkaline, but quite tasty. Chicho got raw savory pancakes topped with veggies, pesto, and cashew cheese. While neither of our meals were alkaline they were both raw vegan and organic, but sometimes you just gotta work with what you got.

I'm sharing this with you all because I understand how difficult being alkaline can be and I know that being 100% alkaline is relatively impossible. So just be proud that you are vegan or partially alkaline or that you eat raw some of the time. Just being AWARE of what you put into your body is a good start. No one's perfect. We have to build one another up and be proud that we have even taken the step towards more sustainable eating by cutting out meat and dairy. Shoutout to everyone eating at, working at or running plant based cafes and restaurants! We will change the world.

Creeflow on and eat more plants!

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing this, it's good you are finding some nice restaurants. I also found it very difficult to eat in Australia, I wasn't a vegan then but i got very fat non the less eating crap. I was surprised also because there are lot of fruit farms in Australia but the price of some fruits (the ones they are already growing) are insane!

It is so strange to me that they grow so much fruit here in Queensland, yet it is so expensive and relatively difficult to get your hands on. It's been frustrating for sure. I can almost always find stuff to make salad, but one can only eat so much salad haha. Finding raw organic vegan restaurants has been a real life saver.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63208.95
ETH 3084.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82