I Start Neuro-Feedback Treatment Tomorrow

in #health7 years ago

After hearing a variety of independent testimonials regarding the effectiveness of Neuro-Feedback, I've decided to try it myself

Eeg, Integration, Brain Current Measurement


Last week, I went to see a psychotherapist who specializes in neuro-feedback treatment. The initial session measured my baseline brainwave activity using an EEG machine. The scan is then compared to that of a 'normal' brain to give a sense of what areas need to be targeted.

The treatments will have me connected to the EEG, during which I will be watching a stimulus, such as a video of something I enjoy. When my brainwaves are at their intended levels, the video will play. When I begin to stray from this ideal state, the video will stop until I return to the correct state.

It's basically self-directed operant conditioning and is intended to make an individual more aware of how their brainwaves are connected to particular emotional states, and to adjust them accordingly.

The treatments started in the 1950's and 60's through the work of Dr. Joel Kamiya at the University of Chicago and Dr. Barry Sterman at UCLA. From Brainworks website:

Dr. Kamiya was studying consciousness and discovered that by using a simple reward system, people could learn to alter their brain activity. This was the first ever EEG neurofeedback training.

My goals for treatment are to improve my focus and concentration, as well as address negative thought patterns.


I've struggled with focus and concentration issues all throughout my life. I've tried medication in the past but ultimately did not want to remain dependent on an external substance to help with my focus.
Adult, Blur, Close-Up, Eyeglasses, Focus, Model, Moist

Additionally, I've periodically found myself in self-deprecating negative thought spirals that persist much longer than they should. My awareness of this process has increased over the years, but I still find myself torturing myself with my own personal 'itty bitty shitty committee'.

Increasing my awareness and making conscious choices to change my behaviors is something that appeals to me much more than taking a pill. I've decided to speed up the change process by seeking professional assistance and am excited to see how this treatment effects me!


If you received value from this post, please upvote, follow, and resteem!

All pictures from the pixabay.com

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67544.78
ETH 3225.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65