Applying the Costanza Philosophy: Trying Neuro-Feedback

in #health7 years ago

Seeking radical self-transformation, I've decided to try radical behavior changes


Inspired by the Seinfeld episode where George decides to do the opposite of everything he's ever done, I've recently been applying concepts from the 'Constanza Philosophy' as a way to better my life. For those who haven't read my first post about this topic, I recommend checking it out.

Related image
Image Source
I started to feel stagnant within my mental and physical health and knew I wasn't living up to my potential in various areas of my life. I challenged myself to take action and apply new behaviors and techniques to allow myself to become a more efficient and effective human being.

I tried a 30 day Paleo Diet cleanse, I began running 5 days a week, I abstained from alcohol for a month, and have made a conscious effort to write more. In just over a month, I have seen palpable changes to my physical health, my mood, and my overall outlook on life.

But I've only just begun


In an effort to continue this momentum towards positive change, I've decided to try neuro-feedback therapy as a tool to aid in my progress. From Braincore Therapy's website:

Individuals are connected to a computer using wires and sensors, thereby allowing a provider to monitor the brainwave activity. The software automatically detects when the brainwaves are properly ordered and feeds that information back to the patient in real time. The feedback appears in the form of a game, movie, or sound which signals to the patient that the brainwaves are becoming more ordered. The patient’s own brainwaves actually control the game, movie or sound activity, and the observation of this dynamic helps the brain learn how to improve its own regulation.

You are using the information from a scan of your brain and correlating activity to symptoms you may be dealing with. These issues can include anxiety, depression, focus, memory, trauma, and insomnia, to list a few. Your brain scan is compared with that of a normal brain, and the practitioner then works with the patient on individual parts of the brain to train them one at a time.
Eeg, Integration, Brain Current Measurement

It's self-directed operant conditioning


Essentially, you are becoming aware of when your brainwaves are in a more normal pattern and are rewarded for staying in that state, often by having a video of something you find pleasurable continue to play. This process increases your awareness of such brainwave functioning and trains you to stay in this state.

I've decided to try neuro-feedback to deal with focus, anxiety, and depression. Though my anxiety and depression are not severe, I get bouts here and there where I know my mind is creating unnecessary stress. My trouble remaining focused has been with me for most of my life and can create further anxiety and depression.

My initial test went well


Last Wednesday, I went to my first appointment with a practitioner that is over an hour away from where I live. She came highly recommended from a friend, and her prices are incredibly affordable, as she does the test and five 1 hour sessions for $100.

I began my session by describing my symptoms and giving a brief medical history. During the test, I was hooked up to an EEG machine to have my brainwaves analyzed. This is done by staring at an object for about six minutes and keeping your blinking to a minimum. You then go through the same process, only with your eyes closed.

I will not find out the results from my test until my first neuro-feedback session, which will occur next Wednesday. She did tell me that, based on my brainwaves, I was an intelligent individual. Don't ask me how she discerned this, but I won't argue with her!

I am incredibly excited to see how this treatment benefits my mindset and will do my best to share my journey with you all.
Be, Change, Become, Practice, Motivation, Growth


All images from the pixabay.com

If you received value from this post, please upvote, follow, and resteem!

Sort:  

Great to hear you've begun the neuro-feedback, $100 seems like a great deal considering the treatment includes words like neuro, EEG, brain scanning, etc, where one might expect crazy rates. I hope you get some good results and keep us posted.

Much appreciated :) she does it because she wants to help others and can afford to charge very low rates. The equipment is pretty expensive

I've seen your posts it's so wonderful and greats

Thanks for the positivity :)

Congratulations @colinhoward! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63622.11
ETH 2505.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67