You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Disheartening Burden of Chronic Illness

in #health7 years ago

I work in health care (physical Therapy therapy ) at an old folks home. Yes chronic illness can lead to extreme discouragement and depression. But not all doctors are "one size fits all". Neither am I as a PT. No two "total knees are the same " there is no one size fits all. At least not in PT. I'm sure there are doctors out there like your describing bevause i AGREE that there are since I've seen them. But there are still some "good ones" left ♡
Thanks for sharing

Sort:  

Thank you for sharing. I agree there are still some doctors with heart in the world. I wish I knew more. Sadly, the one who comes to mind first was murdered by an unbalanced patient about thirty years ago now... );

I wrote this piece, though, not so much to "rip on" doctors as to try and encourage people who have not found help in that quarter to continue seeking, even if their doctor hasn't been able to help...

Thanks very much for adding some balance to this discussion! :D

I didn't really get the vibe you were trying to rip into doctors....but I understand your frustration with mainstream medicine. The way everything is with insurance we have some people not getting the care they need, then others having a seeming "over abundance " and not even utilizing it. In my 5 years of having a license to practice pt, the paperwork has become so labor intensive. Yes it is DEFINITELY important to justify your services, etc etc. But some of the things we are required to do arent really necessary and as i always say - "they are trying to take the L O V E out of healthcare" that's what i got in it for. Not to have mound of damn unnessary paperwork. Its just getting more and more stringent. But i love helping people especially elderly get mobile is my niche so I'll continue. I can appreciate where you are going with this article though. Yes there is hope outside of mainstream medicine, invasive surgeries, etc

Thanks.

I actually worked as an orderly and later in occupational therapy in a convalescent home many years ago. It's demanding work, and takes a lot of compassion.

Thank for adding to the conversation! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61436.18
ETH 2381.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55