Coffee now comes with a cancer label.... so what are the alternatives to drinking coffee?

in #health6 years ago (edited)

I know there are sooooo many coffee lovers out there and this information is hard to believe, you may not want to believe it or you may not care 'because it won't happen to me' but it's better to be informed than not, so please keep reading.....

Food-beans-coffee-drink_(24300616956).jpg

How is Coffee cancer causing?

The coffee bean has to be roasted and during this process a chemical called acrylamide which is a carcinogen present in the coffee, carcinogens can cause cancer. Now coffee companies will have to print a warning label

If this doesn't change your mind then the reminder of the coffee industry being for the very most part an unethical business that has caused the destruction of natural habitats and wildlife. coffee beans take a long time to develop and grow, its very labor intense and the plant is very sensitive to environmental changes, which may put the crop under threat entirely considering the climate is not stable. Yes it does provide jobs for people, but the work is hard and wages a low. Realistically long term into the future it's not a sustainable cash crop.

17058380675_e5f0d3d001_b.jpg

I was like most people, a coffee addict and I had no idea it was a problem apart from all the crashes and cravings I would experience, that I thought was in no way related to coffee (because I had been drinking it from a young age) but I discovered a lot of information out theretelling me otherwise...

...did you know if you quit coffee you can prevent skin aging and live a less stressful life, also you won't wake up as tired anymore! All this informationwas enough for me to give it up and I have never looked back!

I know you like the taste, the smell, the temporary perk it gives you!

Ok maybe a coffee once in a blue moon isn't going to harm you but the substance itself is highly addictive and more often people have a coffee everyday if not several times a day.

For me the best way to kick a habit was to just stop altogether, and like with most addictive substances it's hard.

So what are the alternatives?

Well there are loads and lot's of them are pain relievers, anti depressants and super healthy!

If you are looking for flavor, texture and over look that's similar to Coffee go for...

Cocoa_Pods copy.jpg

Raw Cacao
Ancient medicinal drink for Its stimulating properties to lifts your mood and protect your body. Raw means its unroasted and therefore contains more health benefits compared to coffee


Garroves copy.jpg

Carob.
It's not a stimulant but I find the effects of it do lift your mood, its full of antioxidants too.
It's a good sub if you want to get off caffeine


maca.jpg

Maca
Not so much like a dark coffee but more like a spiced butterscotch latte, smooth energy boost, mood lifter, great for hormonal health but NOT for pregnant or breastfeeding women


chai.jpg

Chai spiced herbal Tea
These spices have a stimulating and warming effect on the body,
you can buy versions with or without black tea, drink black or with alternatives milks


There are other alternatives that aren't so much like coffee but are stimulating....These are great morning drinks...


lemon.jpg


Ginger, Lemon and Hot water Extremely cleansing,
hydrating and stimulating,
really easy to make.


smoothie.jpg

Fruit smoothie or green smoothie fresh pure juice or with milk alternatives for Natural sugars,
vitamins and nutrients to support the bodies overall health


coco.jpg

Coconut water
Full of electrolytes and Hydrating,
best straight from the coconut if you can


Stronger stimulants
(with every stimulant can be negative side effects, especially sensitive people, jitters, anxiety, heart palpitations) I do not recommend these especially if you are pregnant or on medication.


ginseng.jpg

Ginseng
Asian and North American herbal medicine
because of its anti inflammatory properties


hot-green-tea-with-heart-art copy.jpg

Matcha
Antioxidant rich green tea from Japan, can be made like a latte,
it's getting so popular even starbucks sells it now but it's better to make your own!


mate.jpg

Yerba Mate
Called the tea of the God's
a national drink from Argentina
and thought to be a cancer curer


Guaraná_02.jpg


Guaraná
A berry found in the Amazon,
Highly energizing more than normal caffeine drinks


There are also brands available that are selling coffee alternatives (that are close to the look and taste of coffee) but are herbal / without caffeine, you can check these out here.

I hope you will choose to drink less coffee and try some alternatives :)

ecotrainbanner.png

🥑 🍎🥝 🍉 🍇 🍐🍓🍈🍋🍑 🍍🍊🍌🍏

For more health and diet tips, check out @celestialcow....

celestialcowlong.jpg

switching to a plant based diet 🌱 can change your life and change the world
✌️Join the food revolution now

All images are sourced and labeled for reuse

Thanks for reading

Sort:  

Hi celestialcow,

I like your information and your enthuisiasm about it. I quit drinking coffee like a half a year ago and I honestly don't miss it, but still like the smell and the taste. I drink one once in a while, but I am not addicted to it anymore.

For people trying to get rid of it I also recommend drinking coffee substitutes made of roasted cereals or vegetable such as rye or chicory.

That's right, I just found out about that today, there's a link at the bottom of the article for those substitutes. I've never tried it myself. Good to hear you don't drink it!

Hi @celestialcow! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @movingman!

Swedes are some of the biggest coffe drinkers in the world and I can't do anything else but laugh to myself when I think about how much coffee my ex co-workers used to drink (probably is still drinking). Always a coffee when you get to work, before every meeting and always after lunch.
It's insane and people have the mindset that everything is bad so if you are going to think like that you can't eat anything.
I beg to differ since you can easily avoid the things that have the most toxins in it.
This post is so good and I always love posts that show you what you can do instead of contributing to destroing the Environment and polluting your body =)

An informative post. I suffer from adrenal fatigue so I have to be careful with coffee!!! Have you tried turmeric lattes??

Ive had golden milk but I don't really like alternative milk lattes because the milk separates so I normally have drinks without milk now. I don't mention turmeric as an alternative because studies show its not that easily absorbed by the body and if people are taking perscription drugs for something like seizures for example it can block the effects of those drugs. Turmeric also contains a natural steroid phytosterol which lowers cholesterol but you need to intake 2g of it which most people don't, this steroid also lowers absorbtion of beta carotene and vitamin e, its not recommended for infants, pregnant or breast feeding women. Tbh I personally don't use turmeric anymore I used to use it alot in curry but I went off it, if I dont feel like it then maybe I don't need it, if u crave it then go for it... That's what I think, but personally I don't find the taste that pleasant to drink it, unless sweetener is used...

Sorry about your adrenal fatigue u should look into maca because it smooth releasing energy which I think is OK for you but do check it and make sure first

Yes I would always check. I dont like the taste... 😊

Thats interesting. I will look into what you say. However I make it with fresh turmeric and black pepper which is meant to help absorb it. I never really have a problem with it separating. It depends on the milk I guess and the temperature. I would say some of those other drinks on the list arent neccessarily good for infants either 😉

No I didn't imagine infants would using these. I would never allow infants to have caffeine or stimulants (like my parents let me) it's totally unnecessary as kids are already full of energy. Carob would definitely be OK and a smoothie but tbh would not recommend any others for kids. Honeybush tea is also nice for infants and other herbal teas. Yea if you are using black pepper ideally organic because you don't want to be drinking pesticides then I think you are right you absorb it better, that's called a golden milk or close to it. :) took me ages to make this post so I had to draw the line somewhere, there's probably more drinks but I can't list them all, thanks for pointing this extra one out.

I just want to mention that it's another reason I don't drink golden milk anymore because of Black pepper I find it harsh on my stomach now, I practice auyvedic principles, for my personality makes me more irratable and fiery. There definitely is a harshness in black pepper like chili's. Best to listen your own body :)

Finally you can mix maca with lucuma which is a sweet fruit powder with many health benefits including beta carotene going to mention this I an up and coming future post on sweeteners, hope u will stay tuned for that one :_)

Sounds nice!!!!! I will look forward to it.

It does take ages, definately. I didnt mean to suggest your post was lacking as it is really good!!!! I try to use organic everything. 😊

great post @celestialcow, I have never drank coffee myself, but it's realy important to keep everyone informed.

You must be one in a million :)

I want to try something which is a very cool idea for great posts like this.. @Tipu send tip 😀

Oh wow thanks! I might also try this too. I was using bots before but bottracker isn't working for me atm. Some sort of mercury retrograde thing I suppose

Dam Coffee! I keep managing to stop drinking it but then have a relapse again :( haha. This is a very well made article and its already resteemed!

Luckily I didnt like it until my early twentys but the real coffee began when I went to spain and started drinking super strong coffees, which even lead to drinking expresso beans instead of regular coffee. What a horrible drug.
And now to hear that its a carcinogen?! Makes sense I guess concidering how widely available it is in most parts of the world in one form or another, and prices ranging from rich to poor.
Time I do another complete switch back to tea :) thanks for the reminder!
Once you stop it though and then drink a strong cup, I feel that it effects my muscles and I even believe it creates sciatica nerve pain and problems if one has problems there already.

Thanks for the resteem :) yea most of the alternatives are excellent pain relievers. I actually don't drink tea either except herbal ones, im a bit concerned about tannins plus I prefer to keep caffeine intake to a minimum. It's probably ok to drink one but no more than 2 cups of it a day.

Very welcome :) One becomes very sensitive to even the caffine from black tea say, or tea-ines?! Even for myself green tea makes me hypo lol. Its shedding light on why theres coffee everywhere and such a shit trade for the producers, I saw years ago a doku called Black Gold about coffee production. Pritty dark out!
Just like sugar , a drug "pushed" by governments :( Somehow even if I buy decaf from an organic shop, I can still feel the caffine but its maybe placebo as muscles have memory lol.

Dam Coffee! I keep managing to stop drinking it but then have a relapse again :(

Happens frequently to me too.

I do have a problem, I'm getting head ache from coffee. I'm getting head ache if I drink too much of it, and I get a head ache if I stop drinking it. It should be pretty obvious that it's best for me to stay away ... still every now and then I'm relapsing.

Luckily ive not got to that stage with withdrawals, and dont plan to either :) Its so bad that it was yesterday I read this article, then went to work - and them remembered about it as I took the last gulp of the second latte.
Is there such things as Coffee Rehabs?!

Lol switch to decaf first (altho the cancer element is still present) at least it helps u to get of the caffeine side without sort of realizing because its exactly like coffee. Other suggestion is to find a tea u like and just bring the tea bags with u to work (herbal prefably) then u won't have to use milk (cruelty free) or looks at the last link about where u can buy these chicory coffee alternative. U might want to check out my latest article https://steemit.com/ecotrain/@celestialcow/5-health-foods-that-we-think-are-good-for-us-but-can-be-harmful

even with decaf I get the shakes, altough not so badly, i still feel it in the jaw. Is there such thing as caffeine sensitive? seriously i have exactlt the same effects from coffee, physically as I get from amphetamines lol.

Im just to avoid it all (the legal drugs I mean) its twisted lol

Drink lots of water if u get a headache but u need good water (filter it if u can) also hot lemon and water flushes out your system. U just got to train urself to reach for other drink alternative. I really like warm drinks and teas so it was quite easy for me to switch over to another kind of beverage.

Thanks for the post. We've moved to chicory-based drinks, and are perfectly happy with them. We do still have some coffee, but usually only about one a day. I gave up drinking coffee at work some time ago, and now drink water. It tastes so much better chilled, though, and thankfully we have a piped chilled water supply.

I know what u mean about water I used to filter mine because there is so many nasties In it. Where I am now I can't filter it because its so bad so I buy bottled spring water but I don't have to drink it so cold because it tastes nice anyway. Very cold and very hot can be shocking for our internal system apparently healthiest way to consume is similar to our body temp. I still think one coffee a day is too much but u know what's best for u! U might want to check out my latest article also https://steemit.com/ecotrain/@celestialcow/5-health-foods-that-we-think-are-good-for-us-but-can-be-harmful

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by celestialcow from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

I dislike coffee but only take it if i have exams and i need to read over night. It keeps me awake

If u don't drink it often, u are probably OK. Concerns are with people who drink everyday and more than once a day

Ok thanks for further explanation

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 63049.68
ETH 3022.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50