Do You Even Fast Bro?

in #health6 years ago

The more time restricted eating I do the better I feel. Just broke an 18hr, water only, fast with a giant fresh vegetable, greens & salmon salad + a banana for something sweet & extra potassium.

If you’re not familiar with time restricted eating or intermittent fasting it is a trending method of eating where you consume only water (some teas & black coffee are ok) for the majority of a 24 hour period. You don’t want to consume anything that will result in an insulin response.

For example, last night I finished dinner at around 21:00 then consumed only water till 15:00 today.

The goal with eating this way is to promote positive hormone production & allow the blood to regulate & clean itself much more efficiently & effectively. Results continue to show much lower insulin & higher human growth hormone levels in people fasting compared to eating regularly. Higher HGH & lower insulin translates to more muscle mass & less fat.

Besides the science, it just feels good to give your gut time to fully flush out. A lot of us fall into the habit of always packing more & more food into our digestive tract without letting it empty out, rest & heal.

My advice for someone trying intermittent fasting is to eat a lot of food when you eat. You don’t need to restrict calories, just the time window so you can still eat joyfully. Make sure you get enough salt & potassium magnesium etc. from food. Feels like it’s easy to get depleted if you workout a lot.

For Instance, today I went to a yoga class, steam, sauna, & took a good walk with the dog before breaking the fast. Trying to detox my body after eating too much processed food lately.

Feels like I am always bouncing between healthy & slighty unhealthy eating habits. I’ve been doing time restricted eating a few days a week on average for awhile, but I think it’s time to up to 5 days a week & observe.

Highly recommend researching or giving it a try once a week. If you can’t go the morning without sugar withdrawal you might really benefit from it.

Any other fasters out there?

Sort:  

I dont know how yall cats do that man, I'll become kranky and weak if i dont eat every 2,5 hours. I must say i dont believe in eating much though. Most of the time i eat small portions, so after a meal i can jump around or fall a sleep not a problem.

I’m sure if you wanted to you could. What you eat has a big affect on the cravings. If I eat a lot of fat & protein & vegetables with little carbs, I don’t get that shaky sugar withdrawal feeling. If my diet is smaller meals & more carb based, more often, my body will adapt really quickly, & I will crave sugar & be hungry all the time.

My body adapts to diet quickly but I binged on a lot of sugar lately & am getting fat! This type of eating does wonders for fat burning & keeping your blood sugar down. There is a noticeable boost of testosterone type energy for me as well when I get more into that ketosis type fat burning state from few carbs & lots of fatty proteins & vegetables.

Exercising is a great way to silence the hunger cravings & feels good to move around on an empty stomach. Fasted yoga is the best, more room for your chest cavity & lungs to expand when your gut is empty!

Makes def sense.. If you wanna lose weight. But im an ectomorph which makes it completely different or at least i.m.o.

I actually wanna gain weight. Which i fail at big time. I do get stronger though. So the little reserve of calories i might save today is not really convenient to burn in a fast the next day.

I feel much better if i eat proper on time. And indeed like you said the healthier i eat the better i feel.

I forgot about the morphs. Think I’m somewhere between all three, I’m kind of long & lean, have a little belly that always likes to hang around & I can pack on muscle very easily. My morph seems to change quickly based on diet & exercise.

The important thing is to continue to learn what our individual bodies respond the best to & do them. Feels so much better to be healthy

No, but I'm going to experiment with it (similar to the method you're describing) soon, to see if it can help a health issue or two. If nothing else, it'll give me more info about how my body works under various conditions. Thanks for posting.

As long as you can get enough food in you’ll probably feel great. I find eating in the middle of the day, not too late, to be best, I don’t like to sleep after eating a bunch of food. I usually take a walk after eating a big meal to help with peristalsis & healthy digestion.

Sounds healthy to me.
I'm a bit fucked up, a couple years ago my muscles started twitching all over, and they haven't stopped. It has changed my metabolism, amongst many other things. Meh, I'll figure it out.
(The twitching and related symptoms are something I'm looking at to see if it changes during fasting.)

That’s weird about the twitching, hopefully you can get it smoothed out. Cleaning out the system to run a proper diagnostic makes sense

I haven't in the lasy 4 or 5 months, but I was practicing a weekly 36hr fast for almost a year. I really liked how I felt (ESPECIALLY if I had a training day for running or climbing lined up on the same day).

Nice, 36 hours is much harder, but yea I love working out fasted. Feels light in the core & less blood devoted to digestion leaves blood for the muscles

Hey man, i practice this regularly as well. I eat from 1400h to 2200h daily. But often stop well before 2200h. I also try to fast for around 72hrs every few months as well. I’m really loving it.

It is funny, that I made a healthy comment here & then I see you eating cookie dough on your last post 😂

I do the same things, but I do feel much better when I stick to the fasting.

72 hour fast would probably be great

Yeah Friday is “free day” I’ll usually have pizza for supper and something over the top for dessert. Than back to healthy eating for the rest of the week.

I’ve done a fast around 32hrs and 40hrs so far and actually found both surprisingly easily, but I may be some sort of freak.

I think it’s the first day that’s the hardest. I’ve done a really low calorie foraging fast, where I only ate live food off the plant for a couple weeks. lost track of the days & felt like I was tripping on psychedelics for a lot of the time just from being fasted. Seems like fasting is a window to the spiritual psychedelic side of our brains when we stop worrying about food & consuming. Gotta be careful though, was an intense experience to say the least

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62964.22
ETH 2595.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74