Type 3 Diabetes aka Alzheimers. (Not Copy & Pasted)

in #health7 years ago (edited)

                                                          


It generally takes a long while for new discoveries and paradigms to filter into the general public. 

I myself had not heard about this until I came across it in my course content.  Some of my other posts have been quite long so ill keep this one short and sweet. (I hear many of you breathe a sigh of relief)

Adipose tissue (fat) , skeletal muscle and the liver have traditionally been considered the key insulin target organs, however most people do not know that the brain has also been added to this list.

In 2005, Alzheimer's disease was provisionally labelled as Type 3 Diabetes, after researchers found that the brain actually produces insulin. Up until this point it was believed that production of this hormone was solely in the pancreas. This 'brain insulin' is vital for healthy brain cells. There has been a gradual expansion in the understanding of the role of insulin in the brain, and it is now agreed to be a vital component of memory processes in the hippocampus. (The part of the brain which is heavily involved in organizing our memories). (1)

A vast volume of research is showing how drastically the diet can impact the health of the brain. For 70-90 year olds, diet was shown to be a significant risk factor for mild cognitive impairment. Sugar and carbohydrates were the biggest negatively influencing culprits, and fat's and proteins were shown to have protective factors. Researchers observed issues with language, memory, judgement and thinking. Individuals consuming the highest levels of carbohydrates were almost twice as likely to develop these mild impairments compared to those individuals with the lowest consumption.  Researchers also found that when they disrupted the signalling of insulin in the brain, this resulted in dementia. (2)

                                                   


I have not researched this topic thoroughly enough, only touched on it on my course, but this has really got me thinking about the health implications of certain types of diet's which seem to be popular online, such as the fruitarian diet. One thing I have learned since I have started studying the subject is that there is an incredible amount of incorrect information circulating the internet.

I have observed some video's of individuals saying there is no need to be concerned about consuming a purely fruit based diet and it's effect on insulin as we don't need insulin to deal with fructose- the kind of sugar in fruit. This is just not true, and it's a new diet trend where we are not able to gauge the long term health effects. The body is extremely resilient, it's job is to keep you alive it can adapt to almost anything, it wouldn't be until much later you start to see any ill effects, this is of course if  there are any. I am not saying there are, I am saying I need to look into this some more before I can properly comment, and I would urge anyone else do research any type of diet they are considering thoroughly, and not to listen to someone's advice online because they look great in their video's. Many, but not all, of these youtube stars have undergone plastic surgery and don't follow the diet as religiously as they claim they are.

You Are In Charge Of Your Own Health. Be Responsible.

References

1- Diamant, M., Brain insulin signalling in the regulation of energy balance and peripheral metabolism. Ideggyogy Sz, 2007. 60 

2-  J Alzheimers Dis, 2012. 32(2): p. 329-39. 

Image source (I must learn how to imbed these)

1-https://www.bing.com/images/search?view=detailV2&ccid=izeDasZI&id=79B07AAEFA49FAB0B63FA4CBFE90C03D5CC462EC&thid=OIP.izeDasZI3zpT1QJmAkOregEsDH&q=alzheimers&simid=608003333025171411&selectedIndex=1&ajaxhist=0

2-https://www.bing.com/images/search?view=detailV2&ccid=HVXjdepn&id=DA4B57B14AEF95A942EDADE1E9332DA8F060848D&thid=OIP.HVXjdepnWZ65_tXxJrVe1wEsEs&q=memory&simid=608019284521062004&selectedIndex=15&ajaxhist=0



Sort:  

Interesting indeed! I manage a website for a client who writes regularly in this vein. I will definitely share this with her.

Thank you :) by all means send her the reference links, one of them takes you directly to the journal of Alzheimers lots more information on there :)

I actually featured this in her newsletter this week. Second article under "Articles From the Experts"...links right back here. If you'd like to take a look, here's a link to the newsletter itself - http://bit.ly/2urhLjg

Oh wow thanks @prowebwriter that's amazing that my content has appeared on an external site!!! thanks for letting me know and sharing the link :)

Sure sure. Thanks for producing great shareable content!

Thank you for sharing this info with us @caronellis. I like the way you kept it concise :) The first time I heard Alzheimers disease being refered to as diabetes type 3 was back in 2014 through the works of Dr. Permulter. He extensively explains how a high carbohydrate diet oxidises and hardens brain cells and circuits. It was one of the most interesting readings that I have ever done.

This is the first time I read about insuline being produced in the brain. I am very interested in finding out more about this.

Congratulations on your very informative, concise, original post. Upvoted!

You have just got a new follower! :))

Thank you :) I will check out some of Dr.Permulter's work I need to learn more on this topic myself so thanks so much for adding this information to the thread.

Is it just me, or does your picture change size every post......? :p

Guilty as charged! Ha. I've never written blogs before and this html / markdown stuff is all new to me. I have tried playing around with it but still can't seem to get it to work properly, also the preview of the post as you type doesn't actually look the same as when I hit post so I frantically edit the images after I've posted. Task for the weekend is to learn about how to do all of this properly, I just gained followers a lot faster than I expected to and so I'm trying to keep active to show I'm worth following :D.

Usually the way I include images is like this:
test.png
Then the only things you need to change are the link and the width, which is in pixels. Usually I just don't bother including the width="100" or whatever, and then it will either display the image at full resolution, or if the image is too large it will resize it to the width of the page. If you just directly drag or upload an image through the steemit.com site, you will see that the link looks kind of different than what I put, which is fine, I just like this way better, and I prefer to wrap the img statement in the 'center' tags to make it centered. You can also read more about this here: https://www.w3schools.com/tags/tag_img.asp

Thanks for this, I played around with the center code today, the rest I will have to read more about when my brain is not half dead.

It was Robb Wolf (author of The Paleo Solution) who first introduced me to this idea. Totally makes sense to me.

Hello, thank you for adding this info, same as abigial above I need to read more into this topic having extra information sources added to the thread is helpful to me and anyone else interested in learning more. :)

Nice post! Never heard of Alzheimers being called DM3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64512.59
ETH 3174.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85