Why Homes Built today burn down 8 Times Faster than Homes Built 30 Years Ago

in #health7 years ago

Recently in Canada we have had tragedy strike in several provinces. Listening to the news today hearing about a family holding funerals for 4 children, just breaks my heart. They all died in a house fire. But what really bothers me is that the home was a relatively newer home. So I had to think about this question. Why have government regulations not addressed building codes that prevent a rapid burn that typical do take place in newer homes built today.

fire.jpg

I think first we have to look at what is fueling the fire. Typically, 30 years ago, when a wool or cotton sofa caught fire you would not see the wool/cotton sofa dripping like water, but today "what you now see is the synthetic material dripping. It's the oils; that's what all of the studies are finding leads to rapid fire spread and rapid pyrolysis and rapid combustion." according to Paul Acton a Fire Investigation Professional.

Another leading factor in the rapid burn of homes today are the TRUSSES, use to build the frame of the homes. 50 Years ago the trusses were built with solid thick wood that was not treated with an array of chemicals. 30 years ago, residents had approximately eight minutes to escape their homes from the second that their smoke detector went off, in contrast to today, a resident has less than two minutes.

A test by Underwriter Laboratories, a company that is a not-for-profit that conducts product safety testing. They have discovered that an average-sized room, that is furnished with products manufactured today was fully engulfed in flames with three minutes. Now look at this same room, with furniture manufactured 50 years ago , it took only 30 minutes to be fully engulfed.

Today's homes are filled with a number of modern plastics, such as glues and hydro-carbon-based items, that contribute to the cause of a faster "fire growth rate. I think that Governments across the globe need to pay attention to these studies and address them appropriately. Regulations and laws about how how manufactures produce items and the chemicals used in the process.

Today's post is just an eye opener and a subject matter that I wanted to bring to light, in the hopes that perhaps someone see's it and does have some power to affect the change we need to see as a society to further protect ourselves all across the globe.

Image source:
http://www.bosquecounty.us/firesafety/

Sort:  

Nice work putting this post out. Looks like a death trap these days. I think I'll build my own furniture....

It was just too important not to post this. If you need any guidance with furniture building I have 30 years in the business! Thanks for the vote. Now following

I just followed you back, and took a look at your bio. I'm 9 years clean and sober!

Nice 9 years...congrats...one day at a time..so do you attend or use the AA system where you are?

Plywood covered might look good, many manufacturers using this today. Hang onto old furniture, mine is ball and claw inherited and I have always preferred the old to the new.

Second hand shops (buy old and fix up to look more modern) or find a carpenter to buy the wood and make furniture, it may cost a bit extra but is most definitely better in the long run.

Informative post from a carpenter is appreciated @canadianwoodguy

My woodworking business is bustling I have never been so busy, people want beds, tables everything. I don't think I will ever be able to retire. LOL thanks

This is really great information. My wife and I are hoping to build soon and this will definitely help us make some decisions. @originalworks

Thanks, I am going to build my retirement home soon and will be making it all one level, and will have a sprinkler home system in my design. I will be building the home myself so I am designing it.

That's quite the undertaking. Please keep us informed as you start your build.

Thanks for resteeming this. I would have missed it otherwise.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by canadianwoodguy from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

So many nasty materials nowadays, synthetic and toxic materials used to build and furnish homes. One reason why looking at salvage yards for materials is a good idea. I love to find old wood planks and beams, with a little cleanup they can be like new.

I guess it makes sense that once we started making our furniture out of petroleum derivatives that they would burn faster. Hadn't thought about that before.

I'm lucky. Back in my stepdad's drinking days he would fall asleep on the sofa with lit cigarettes all the time. We had one cushion where the corner had been completely burned away. My mother was able to throw a blanket over him and the couch and put out the fire. On a new sofa he'd probably have been burned alive.

Great article and i was unaware...

The truth is that firefighters have been trying to do something about this for years. Residential sprinkler systems are well developed and have been shown to keep fires to a minimum, but politicians are reluctant to put them into building codes.

This is quite a scary revelation. Thanks for informing us about the dangers of living in a modern home. Does living in high rise apartment with concrete applies in this case? Anyways, upvoted!

Well said and it is an eye opener. I am bias anyway but you can't beat well made solid furniture.

I like people who think like you, it's good for business. LOL

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59228.82
ETH 2524.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52