We Miss Out On Nutrition If We Don't Use The Pith of The Orange When Juicing! Here's How To Avoid That Mistake...

in #health7 years ago (edited)

oranges.JPG
Those white threads or thin lining of the orange, just beneath the peeling, is officially referred to as the pith of the orange. Several years ago, my mother read about the importance of juicing the entire orange (except for the actual skin) to gain the most nutrition possible.
pith.jpg
When you slice your oranges in half and juice them in a traditional citrus juicer, you're not getting the rich vitamins, minerals and essential fiber that the pith offers. I have come to prefer the taste of orange juice with the pith because it has a deeper, richer flavor with a lower glycemic load as compared to regular orange juice.

I cannot underestimate the importance of fiber and even though fiber supplements like psyllium are wise to take, we should not forget about the natural fiber sources, either. That is why we need to maximize our nutrition levels in every possible way, even if it may seem like a small step. Remember, all of these small steps add up and take you on a journey towards better health and vitality.
juice.jpg
So how do you juice a peeled orange that's in one whole piece? If you already have a carrot juicer then you are in luck because that's the best way to go about doing it. If you don't have an all purpose juicer, then I would recommend getting a basic juicer that's relatively inexpensive. I like the Jack Lalanne Juicer and you can find them in select stores and also online. I think it's easier just to jump on Amazon and get one ordered that way.

I browsed around and found some for around $80 but the price varies based upon a variety of factors, such as the model and whether it's new or refurbished. Getting a juicer, in my opinion, is an incredible investment into your health and it's so versatile , as well. Yes, it is definitely great for juicing oranges, but also excellent for carrot juicing , too!

Here's an amazon link if you'd like to browse the juicers for yourself...
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0196T6JVO/ref=asc_df_B0196T6JVO4986559/?tag=hyprod-20&creative=395033&creativeASIN=B0196T6JVO&linkCode=df0&hvadid=167151781903&hvpos=1o2&hvnetw=g&hvrand=10049553717086519544&hvpone=&hvptwo=&hvqmt=&hvdev=c&hvdvcmdl=&hvlocint=&hvlocphy=9052164&hvtargid=pla-309860565502

As I see it, you can never go wrong with adding oranges to your diet and you will find them to be a natural source of vitamins A, C and numerous others.

Of course, the taste of orange juice is wonderful but the long -term benefits are also incredible! Studies are now suggesting that regular consumption of orange juice can prevent and possibly cure a wide range of physical health conditions.

Why? For one thing... It is an immune booster and let's face it....You're immune system plays a vital role in your overall health function and wellness.

I always try to remember what my grandma use to say, "Health is wealth"....
health wealth.jpg

I hope you enjoyed my post and if you did, feel free to upvote, resteem and/or comment below. I welcome you to follow me if you want to stay connected and read more of my content in the future!

Have an awesome day! :)

Sort:  

More or less if you don't drink the juice in the first 7 minutes, you are drinking sugar water.

@kyriacos
I'm glad you pointed that out! You also miss out on a lot of enzymes by not drinking it as soon as possible.
Thank you for sharing your thoughts! You're ideas are always welcomed! :)

I have done this and the juice is not that sweet like traditional orange juice. It's kinda a more rich more whitish juice. Thanks for the good tip!

@suziescorner
You're welcome and I'm glad you found the tip to be helpful! Have a great day! :)

Good advice @breakingtonight. Have you done any research on the benefits of eating avocado seeds rather than throwing them away? I tried drying one and grinding it into a powder for my smoothie, but it's a lot of trouble if there's not really an amazing benefit.

Thank you, @allforthegood
Though I love adding avocado into my smoothies, I haven't done any research on the seed. I'll have to do some study on it! If you find something out in the meantime, please let me know what you learn. Thanks for your thoughts! :)

Great article really informative :D

@pinappledeficie
Thank you very much for the comment!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64294.06
ETH 3427.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59