You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: And the judgement rained down with the tears

in #health7 years ago

Is this her only kid? I made almost no milk for my first baby. The second one was starving too at first. With the first, I switched to formula all together. With the 2nd, I gave him formula two or 3 times a day and nursed in between. He was so hungrey without the formula he cried all the time and was losing weight instead of gaining. He was almost 2 weeks old and I knew he was starving. He kept up atleast 1 bottle and usually 2 every day untill he started on fruit and cereal. Hes 14 months now and only nurses at bedtime
All kids are different, even with the same set of parents.
What would all the know it alls think about letting the baby starve on the principal of breast is best.
Good for her for being smart enugh to reconize a problem and address it at all costs in the best intrest of her kid.

Sort:  

First and only child. There are so many variables people do not consider when they pass judgement yet if in the same position, would do much the same.

She may have another baby and have a completely different experience. Encourage her not to give up on the idea if she does because of a bad first experience. I had thought that the way things went with my first kid, there was no chance with my second. I was so wrong. I had some great encouragement to try again, and it worked out a lot better the second time. I even learned that events during delivery can affect the moms' ability to produce milk and the nurses at the second hospital were aware of the problems I had had before and were a lot of help.
People tell you that its natural and the only option woman had until recently. That's not true at all. Wetnurses were used, and a lot of babies died early on. I've even heard the old woman tell of dipping cotton rags for the baby to feed on because common folks didn't have glass or nipples. Those days were an era of things not talked about, unlike today where everything is everybody's business. Woman have always done whatever's necessary for the babies. If the baby's living happy and healthy then she must be doing something right.
Sorry for the delay in responce. My internet went off for 3 days. Then I just lost track of what I was doing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67421.82
ETH 2623.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68