Working Toward My New Year’s Resolution: Week 8 Accountability Report

in #health6 years ago

7698C56E-58D9-4D06-B434-D56B0F60A9A2.jpeg

Let’s talk about food. And weight.

There’s a correlation between the two. I think everybody knows that. But how many people really understand the correlation?

I know that I don’t.

Typically, the more you eat, the more you gain in weight. However, that isn’t always the case. When you eat, how you eat, and what you eat are all very important factors to consider when it comes to maintaining and/or losing weight.

7187C38F-A848-413F-A5DA-D5CB77B3BE5C.jpeg

My daily breakfast (The kind of bagel changes from day to day).

I am trying to lose weight this year. Specifically, my goal is to lose 10 kg. If possible, I want to lose weight without thinking too much about changing my diet. At the moment, I don’t have many vices. I don’t eat much snack food throughout the week. I rarely drink alcohol, soda, or juice. I don’t go on ice cream and chocolate binges. And I don’t eat just before going to bed. The only problem that I know I have is overeating during dinnertime.

This may sound like an easy problem to fix, but believe me, it isn’t. And the reason why it isn’t easy to fix is because it involves someone other than myself. It involves my wife, who has an incredible appetite and an unbelievably high metabolism, both of which make it difficult for her to judge what an average portion of food is.

What appears average to her is often three or four times larger than a typical portion of food for many people, including myself.

DF3EB95B-8039-40CC-9BAF-B5E0E84C0C24.jpeg

My typical lunch.

Maybe you are thinking to yourself, this is such an easy problem to solve, just fix your own portions.

I know. And I couldn’t agree with you more. I have even brought this up with my wife before, and every time I do, her answer is this: You don’t have to eat it all. Just tell me when you’re full and I will eat the rest.

That sounds reasonable enough, and really it is. There are two problems with it, though. One, the more food you put in front of someone, the more they are likely to eat. And two, I often feel guilty admitting when I am initially beginning to feel full, so I don’t admit it and eat more than I can. Additionally, I feel that my wife tends to have a negative reaction every time I don’t eat as much as she thinks is reasonable.

1AEE17F7-B21C-494F-899E-34A4C78B65D2.jpeg

A recent dinner.

This is why, if possible, I would really like to lose weight through exercise alone. I don’t want to have this argument with my wife anymore than I already have. This is also one of the reasons why I am recording my weight and the exercises that I do on a daily basis. If I don’t start losing more weight in a month or two, I will be able to show my wife the data I have recorded and that should put me in a better place to negotiate with her.

What do you think? Do these portions seem reasonable to you? From the looks of these pictures, is there anything that you think I should I change?

E6063115-8072-490D-9DC8-2F4AE181BEFF.jpeg

Another recent dinner. There is a pile of rice under that omelet and sauce.


This Week’s Accountability Report

37514639-385D-4F94-A8B3-441442F5965B.jpeg

Exercise and Weight:

Four out of seven days:
I didn’t manage to work out everyday like I had planned, not even in the light way that I had hoped to. It just didn’t happen this week. Due to a lingering cold, I was more reluctant to get out of bed in the morning than usual, and busier in the evenings than usual as well. That said, my weight did drop as low as 80.2 kg, which is almost 2 kg less than when I started. Today it was back up a little bit to 80.9 kg, but I’m still making some downward progress and I’m happy with that. Looking at the entire month of February, too, I’m very happy to see how many days I did exercise.

Looking Forward/Looking Back:

I have noticed that exercising at night, after I have eaten dinner seems to produce better weight loss results than exercising in the morning. As a result, I would like to incorporate more evening workouts into my daily schedule if possible.

In addition, I wasn’t able to achieve my one simple goal of preparing a gym bag last week, so I will be carrying that goal over to this week. I had planned on finally doing that task last night before bed, but something came up and I wasn’t able to, which has again shown me a lesson that I have learned and forgotten too many times already in my life: Don’t put simple things off until later or tomorrow. Get them done and out of the way as soon as possible.

As always, thanks for joining me. If you have any suggestion to help me achieve my goals, I’m all ears. Similarly, if you’re on a similar journey, please share it with me.

Sort:  

There is an old adage that you should eat breakfast like a king, lunch like a prince, and dinner like a pauper. This was put to the test in the study of what was called "the big breakfast diet." Study participants in the big breakfast group lost more weight (and, for some reason I recall that having little chocolate at breakfast helped). Your eating most of your calories at dinner goes counter to the recommendations that came out of this study. You may just have to sit your wife down and have a talk...

The results of that study don’t surprise me at all, and they mirror the way my body feels as well. I’m often hungry before lunch and can eat quite a bit in the morning, but come nighttime and I feel content with just a light snack.

I’m preparing for that talk. It isn’t easy to do in a second language and a foreign culture that is so into food and expressing affection through food preparation.

The good news is I’m really settling into the exercise now. I can’t do it every morning, but most of the time I’m finding ways to fit it into the day somewhere. Also, despite this slight cold, I’m feeling very good.

I read somewhere about exercising in the AM while fasted and delaying eating until later in the day being successful in losing weight, but when I tried to fond it by searching "modified fast" all I came up with was the PSMF diets which is not what you want.

That pattern of eating and exercise, if you can find anything on it, might work with your wife's emphasis on dinner. Maybe you could secretly shrink the cookware and dinner plates so it just looks like you're all eating big dinners ;-)

Well, I still do want to focus on exercising in the morning, and I think that will be easier to do as the weather gets warmer. I’ve also heard that exercising in the morning promotes weight loss. For me, though, with my dinner eating habits, it seems like exercising after I eat dinner helps me to metabolize some of those calories. Of course, it could just be that my routine is finally start to change my body and I am starting to lose weight regardless of the time that I exercise. I don’t know.

For us, eating together as a family is very important, so it makes adjusting things a little difficult. There are other reasons as well, but it would take a while to explain. I’ll try some longer early morning work outs. That will get easier for me to do when the sun starts coming up at 4:30 again;)

The technique I was trying to think of is intermittent fasting. It would allow you to eat that big lunch and dinner with your wife but would mean missing breakfast and moving your exercise. Probably better to stick with what you're doing though. There is no one way that works for everyone and eating as a family is important to our mental health.

If I missed breakfast, I don’t think I’d make it to lunch. I’m going to keep doing what I’m doing for another month and then start considering implementing some changes/talking to my wife about portion sizes.

That sounds like a great plan, consistency and developing the habit are important. People that lose weight through crazy diets end up gaining it back while those who make smaller changes that they can live with have a greater chance of succeeding in the end. Hmmmm, there may be a fable in there...tortoise and hare?

Most people are fat because of fast food eating. Many do not use any rules when they eat it as well. But if fat is a lot of diseases in the body, it is difficult to move. I think we should exercise regularly, so the food needs to be monitored.

Yes, exercise is important.

It is delicious food ..Thus food healthy for our health ..ThaNks dear sharing my favorite food..

My wife’s cooking is delicious! That’s the truth.

Great Resolution.Thanks for Sharing.

Thanks for reading.

i like your post
please visit my page
https://alpha.steepshot.io/@maxlivington
Thanks

Thanks Max. What is SteepShot?

Meal Prepping. You would be surprised how much control you give yourself over your calories when you plan ahead. It also saves a lot of time and money.

That’s part of the problem for me. I’m not the one in my family doing the food prepping. I could be. I know how to do it. But my schedule and responsibilities make it more reasonable for my wife to do most of the food prepping and planning.

バナナの写真、気になりました。かなり熟してそうです。

私はジムに通っていたとき、運動をしてから、ご飯を食べました。その方が筋肉が付きやすいと思ったからです。

バナナは毎日たべているから多くに買って冷凍でキープしています。そうすると外がすぐ茶色になりますが中が保存します。

僕は筋肉付けるよりも脂肪を落としたいです。でもどうしたらいいあんまり分からないです。

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60832.40
ETH 2912.20
BNB 525.30
SBD 2.31