Daily Accountability - Life after Layoff

in #health6 years ago (edited)

I was recently laid off from my job - one day after my twelve year anniversary there. I kind of knew it was coming and did my best to prepare for it, but it's still traumatic when it actually happens. The day began like and other, then all of a sudden we had a 'surprise' meeting with my boss, her boss and HR and 3 other members of my team. They informed my team and I of the layoff together (which helped?) and we went for drinks right afterward to vent. A few days later I returned to get my personal things, walking out with my box and plant like it is in the movies.

It's funny how your body reacts when events happen that are out of your control. I went through all of the stages of grief in 60 seconds of hearing the news:

Denial. Depression. Anger. Bargaining...

....and then over and over and over until recently, where I feel I am finally in Acceptance of it.

Working for one of Fortune's 'top ten best companies to work' for has been an amazing experience. I've been pushed to try things I would never have before, building my skills all while having fun! I was young and green when I started and went on to build my family while I was there (met my husband there, had our son, bought our house etc...) and I am so thankful working there made those things so easy. But, things change, the company has changed in the last few years and it is definitely time to move on now, as scary as it may be. I was stagnant, complacent while being stuck in the false comfort of it all and know that I can do something more personally fulfilling where I am appreciated.

I write this because life events impact your health and well being. Being laid off is like coping with a death, it impacts everything, your finances, family, friends and overall happiness. It's easy to dwell on the negative (especially since you have more time on your hands) and forget about yourself. I did this for a couple of weeks after hearing the news and that is okay. I laid in bed and cried, I got mad, I didn't workout. Or I worked out too hard and was too sore the next day to do more. I didn't eat or I ate too much...

Given all of this, I am proud that I allowed myself to feel it, and am now allowing myself to move on. I watched the movie "Up in the Air" again and it was so helpful I told my other co-workers to watch it and they felt better afterwards too. Just a reminder of what is really important, and that things could be much worse . Not that I am positive every second of the day, or that I don't have butterflies in my stomach from waking up to the unknown every morning. But I am doing my best to truly enjoy this down time because I know it won't last forever, and I know we will be okay.

Accountability: March 21

Breakfast: Scrambled eggs with veggies, 1/2 wheat english muffin, coffee with almond milk
Snack: Banana
Lunch: Tuna lettuce wraps with baby carrots
Snack: Tea, dark chocolate with nuts (2 squares)
Dinner: Veggie tostadas (2), Avacado
Snack: Strawberries or Yogurt
+Water - Water - Water!!!!

Workout: PiYo Drench (45 min) and 10 Minute Hardcore (abs)

Yesterday was good but forgot to track my food, I did 21 Day fix 'Dirty 30' Workout - one of my favorites!

Here is my Beachbody workout list in order of my favorites:

  1. 21 Day Fix: All of it! This is the program new people should try. I love Autumn and the workouts are doable and you will see results in a few weeks. (The greatest results I've had were doubling up these 30 minute workouts!)
  2. PiYo - Sweat and Drench: * I love PiYo! It is a combination of Pilates and Yoga and these two workouts are my go-to's when I don't feel like doing anything else.
  3. 80 Day Obsession: This is the newest program, also by Autumn Calabrese. I started it about a month before getting laid off and got off track. Planning to start it over soon! These workouts use resistance loops which are kind of a pain to use but work once you get the hang of it!
  4. 21 Day Fix Extreme: These incorporate a resistance band and I had some trouble using it on some moves. I enjoy most of the workouts but prefer 21 day fix.
  5. Shift Shop: Definitely notice changes fast, especially in the ab area. These have more of an athletic feel, like football practice, it switches from Speed (Cardio) to Strength (Weights) each day, I loved Strength 35! I like his positive messages as well.

Have a great day!

~A~A~G~

Sort:  

Congratulations @bittersweetlife! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations @bittersweetlife! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Are you a DrugWars early adopter? Benvenuto in famiglia!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64202.90
ETH 3439.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59