Healthy Eating! | Holiday Travel and a Liquid Dose of Super Hero Juice!

in #health5 years ago

DSC_0038 (2).jpg

Are you on the road my Steemian Travelers? Flying? Taking the Bus?


It’s the Holiday season and many of us will be traveling to see family and friends. Flu season is beginning and we all want to avoid that!


But how do we do that?


I truly believe what we eat plays a big factor in our health!


By eating lots of fresh Fruits and Vegetables packed with tons of Vitamins and Minerals, fiber and Anti-oxidants! This is the key! So many “quick” foods we buy when we are in a hurry are truly not good for us. The result is a decreased immunity system and a depleted gut just when we need our bodies to be the healthiest!


DSC_0018 (2).jpg


I know I talk a lot about juicing! I can honestly say the health benefits have been amazing. I realize there are two schools of thought regard juicing vs smoothies however I believe there is room for both in our diets! I want to share what has worked for me!


Juicing fruits and vegetables produces a juice which when consumed is bio-dynamically designed to go directly to our system by-passing the digestive tract. What this means is, the nutrients and vitamins are directly infused as healthy energy in your bloodstream. Your body does not have to digest before the nutrients are absorbed. One important note! I always process more veggies than fruit, keeping the sugar content low in my juices! It’s really easy to add too many fruits! Think 80% veggies/20% fruits!


it’s like a shot of vitamins to your system!


Drinking juices allowed my gut to rest a bit, recharge the probiotics and get healthier! I still eat enough fiber (and use my juice pulp as you know!) in my diet. I still drink my smoothies from time to time, usually when I want to use those creamy fruits and veggies like avocados and bananas.

How about a healthy juice today?


todaysjourney.jpg


How about a Liquid Dose of Superhero Juice!


Beets are my Superhero Fruits! They are nutrient rich and contain high levels of fiber, Vitamin C and magnesium. They boost strength, aid your digestion and help lower blood pressure!


Truly helpful during the winter and Holiday Seasons!


Today’s Juice!


  • Purple Beet (and greens)
  • Cucumber Rich in Vitamin K, Anti-oxidants
  • Apple- Rich in Vitamin C and K
  • Carrots-High in Vitamin A, Anti-oxidants
  • Blueberries- Packed with Anti-oxidants
  • Orange- full of Vitamin C

We all know Vitamin C helps boost our immune system! Anti-oxidants help lower your risk of infections Both come in handy when traveling and visiting families and friends! Winter and flu season, both are just around the corner!


Wash and chop all, process in your favorite juicer or blender and Enjoy! You'll feel like a true Super Hero!


DSC_0030 (2).jpg


Oh, and don’t throw away that pulp! As always, I have so many recipes to share!

DSC_0025 (2).jpg


Thanks for stopping by the Birds nest! I hope you all have a safe, healthy, happy holiday season!

Cheers!


DSC_0048 (2).jpg


And as always, blessings to you all
loveyourself.jpg

steemusa1.png

The STEEM Engine

Sort:  

That color is just gorgeous! I’m coming over for a freshly pressed glass of juice one of these days. It’s so important that we eat to fuel our health rather than our “ego”. 😋

You got it my friend! I know you have your daily smoothie! It's the least we can do for ourselves! You need to keep your stamina up for those LV trips! ;)

Haha… we are probably the most boring Las Vegas tourists in the history of Vegas. No gambling, no drinking, no smoking (at least no tobacco smoking), no drugs, no hookers, no nothing! We drive to see the Hoover dam and stuff 🤷🏼‍♀️ Haha… my younger self is making fun of me right now.

I had a green juice today, which made me think of you. 😉

Oh your juices look divine @birdsinparadise, definitely will have wonderful positive health benefits and they are so yummy too! I just loove fresh juices! Good informative post my friend.

Thank you my friend! I make them each morning, enjoy sharing the health with everyone. Thank you for your kindness ;)

Cheers to you and yours! I think I'm going to whip up a green smoothie later on today. I still have some beet soup, too, so I'll definitely be getting my liquid vitamins in! Though I'll have plenty of healthy things to munch on tomorrow since I'm contributing a few dishes to our meal. :)

That beet soup was amazing....As soon as it cools down here I need to make a nice soup! Hope you had a wonderful thanksgiving with your familly. I'm sure you contributed some delicious sides! Good to hear from you, thanks Katie!

Ooo, I like vitamin explosions like this one and enjoy them as often as I can. Thank you for sharing such a lovely recipe 💚

You are sweet, thank you @zen-art! It felt good just drinking it! :)

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 318 (11/21/18)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65231.30
ETH 2943.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66