My Journey To Quit Cigarettes

in #health6 years ago (edited)


My Journey To A Healthier Life


I started smoking back in high school as me, and many of my friends thought it was cool. However, this habit that I had developed stuck with me. When I had become an adult, I realised that my horrible habit was affecting my health. My throat was always swollen. I asked my doctor about it, and after an 'exploratory surgery' I found out smoking was the cause.

At that point, I told myself that I had to quit, but I couldn't. I had tried to quit multiple times. I would be able to suppress the feeling for a few hours, but the cravings then overpowered me. This was coupled with a feeling of anxiety and constant irritability. I talked to my doctor for a few more days and told myself that I am doing it; I am going to quit smoking.

It was extremely difficult overcoming this obstacle. I was a very heavy smoker; I would smoke every day whenever I could. Drinking water and different juices helped a lot. My girlfriend also supported me through my journey which helped a lot. After a few weeks, I felt like I had done it. The cravings weren't as bad anymore; it had reached a point where they were not significant enough for me to notice.

I have quit smoking for almost four years now. The fact that I felt healthier definitely helped me suppress the cravings. My throat feels so much clearer; it isn't swollen anymore which is a huge bonus. I also do not cough half as much as I used to.


--~--


My name is Joel, and I'm 18 years old, and I live in London, England. I am interested in computer science, and like any other 18 year old, I'm glued to my computer. It brings me joy when you have a tool as great as the internet to use to connect with millions over the world. Learning about new cultures and traditions.

Sort:  

How are you doing? You can do it! i smoked the #uckers for 30 years. Quit 10x. it finally stuck!

I'm not doing too bad myself.
I'm still off from smoking and im glad you have finally quit.
Hopefully it stays that way

its been 4 years now. they finally even smell horrible! Yay! Keep it up. when the urge hits just remind yourself how tough the quit can be!

NASTY BUGGERS CIGARETTES ARE.
SLOW DEATH IN A STICK

It is crazy how for a while it used to be the norm and doctors would even recommend them

Yeah that is how insanity works.

good job on quitting cigarettes! i too struggled with stopping but i kept trying. i finally was able to do it and have stopped for 10 years! its still a battle!

I want to quit so bad!!! Thanks for the inspiration and planning 😋🚬🚫🚭

If I can do it so can you friend

your posts are very good and quality, let's help each other and share, please vote and follow me too, thanks ...


Vote and follow me, @fajarlismaputra

checking out your page now

Keep going man :D i'd highly recommend meditation , helped me hugely in getting over my own problems in life, also i can't say i know what smoking addiction feels like but you should be insanely proud for the choice you have made to invest in your health, especially when you'll be older. (Now i'm starting to sound old, i'm only 19 myself) but you know :)

I've started to practice meditation.
An amazing way to de-stress and feel happier

Healthy body, healthy mind!

I've found different ways to destress now rather than using cigarettes.

Great articles thanks for sharing

No problem!

Maybe it was God that helped me quit my crave.

Congratulations @avant! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Thank you for this badge!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01