Back from hyrdotherapy. Taking fitness for granted.

in #health7 years ago (edited)

hydro01.jpg

I have just got back from my second hydrotherapy session at Raigmore Hospital, Inverness. These photos are just selfies from the changing room so as to avoid invading the privacy of staff and other patients.

hyrdo02.jpg

Because of the injury to my knee, the muscles in my right leg are wasting away from lack of exercise. Too much exercise can be painful and risk causing the swelling from the knee effusion to get worse. Hydrotherapy helps as the water counters the gravity, making exercises easier.

Taking fitness for granted.

I never really thought of myself as mega-fit person. I work in a sitting job in an office. I don't go to the gym or play sports. On the other hand I have either walked or cycled to work for the entire of my adult life. I enjoy hiking and walks in nature. I also quite like dance and meditation. I also have some experience of Tai Chi and Qigong although only to a very basic level. I once got to first dan black belt level in Tae Kwon Do, but haven't practised that for over two decades at this point. Still, a certain amount stays with you.

DSCF7865.resized.JPG

Me on the 18 mile hike from Drumnadrochit to Inverness along the Great Glen Way last July

Injury can awaken you to how much you actually depend on your fitness. Even my desk job has become impossible. Right now I can't quite manage an 8 hour day, 9 til 5, with no breaks to lay down. And that is even before you factor in the commute. Normally, on my bike, the commute is around 30 minutes each way. More like 1hour 20 if I walk. But right now I can do neither. So I would have to take two buses each way, with a wait in the city center, for a total commute of 1hour 30 each way.

If I am unable to recover from this injury, and fingers crossed it doesn't come to that, I will have to seek new work, or move home nearer to my current job. This will also present a big obstacle to our planned move to the EU.

Fundraising progress

Managed to put something aside from our February monthly budget to add to the moving fund.

£2220 of £10000 goal

Previous fundraising blogs

Sort:  

Glad to see this. Getting in shape might take an hour off your day, but it will add years to your life. Think of all you can create with more time to create it. All you can see with more time to see it.

Thanks. It is especially important during injury, but of course within the limits your medical professionals proscribe.

I know. When I worked in the hospital, people often assumed they were supposed to rest their limbs until every bit of ache goes away, not how it is at all. Sometimes recovery can even be very painful. Hard to tell at what point to put pressure on again, so I always defer to a doctor.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63706.08
ETH 2615.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82