Fundraising: A friend bought some old knives...

in #blog7 years ago

knives-04.jpg

I mentioned in my previous blog that @dana-varahi and I are raising money to migrate out of Britain. Well I have my first update on how that is going.

A local friend of mine took two knives I had acquired at some point in the past and made a £20 donation in return.

We are operating a lot of this on the principle of free gift economy. So I'm leaving up to friends and family who take things how much they donate in return. This way we do not discriminate against those that cannot afford a lot. True it may mean we get less for somethings than if we sell through gumtree, or the local facebook buy and sell group, but hopefully this won't prevent us reaching our goal in the long run.

Before and after

knives-01.jpg

Before

As you can see the knives were quite tarnished at the time we gifted them. The friend that made the donation has since given them a bit of shine and shared their photos with me...

knives-02.jpg

After

Apparently the knives also need some straightening. It seems like they are now in the hands of someone that knows how to take care of them and get them into shape, so that is something! I like to think the things we are passing on are going to good homes where they are appreciated.

Fundraising progress

£2120 of £10000 total.

Sort:  

I afraid see your knife ..

These were knives that I never used. I think they were ritual Wiccan knives. But I never really got into Wicca so I never had need of them. They really are nothing to be afraid of.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63039.96
ETH 2549.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78