Dandelion Bitters winter tonic

in #health7 years ago (edited)

IMG_0843
This is my first try at making dandelion bitters. Towards the middle of October I went out and dug up a good batch of dandelions. I washed them and then chopped the whole plant down to little chunks.
IMG_0906
gifs upload


Next I put the dandelion pieces in quart jars and filled the jars with vodka and put them in the closet for 2 months occasionally shaking them.
IMG_0933.jpg
Finally last week I strained off the juice and adde a lime and a grapefruit juiced to each quart. I also stuck a slice of ginger in each quart and a little zest from the lime. Then I put them back in the closet for a week.
Finally I strained them off one more time and watered down the ingredients to about 20% alcohol. Turned out great ! Dandelion bitters has an ancient reputation as a digestive aid and a liver tonic among other things.
IMG_1080.jpg
The dandelion plant is an amazing healer! It is also one of the first plants I eat in the spring to get a nutritional boost from the long winter months.
The pictures and write up are all original material.

Sort:  

Upvoted by @foraging-trail

Thank you for following and upvoting @foraging-trail
You can find out more about the Steemit Foraging community and guidelines for being upvoted by the @foraging-trail here and here. Join us In the Foraging-Trail and let's discuss Foraging Related Topics

Nice post! This is something I would like to try myself one day, and it did not look like it was very difficult, so I should try this next summer!

Hi, thank you! This was quite simple to make and I have been very happy with the result.

That looks like a good supply of bitters you have there! Dandelions are so useful for so many reasons. Those are such nice roots in the top photo of all the plants on the table!

We would like to add your post to the @foraging-trail curating team for upvoting, but we need to confirm the images are yours. If you’re using images, quotes, or copied information from another source, cite those sources accordingly. If you use your own imagery, please let us know by adding a sentence in your post saying so. You can find out more here and here.

Hi yes I handed these to my rather large family for x mas tonight . And yes these are all my own pictures. I took these while making this batch. They were a hit ! Merry x mas !

So cool! I bet they were a hit! I'll have to try this for gifts, too.

Yes they were a hit. Turned out awesome ! The Dandelion is so diverse and useful as medicine and food. Its my favorite plant to forage.

Dandelions are in my top 5 greens. I probably eat more dandelions, over the whole year, than any other wild greens. I use a lot of wild field mustard, too, throughout the year. And lambs quarter (Chenopodium album), but I have to freeze it, to have it all year. So many great weeds out there! :D

Hi again . I agree dandelion is my favorite. it is an amazing weed. So nutritious and benificial and grows everywhere . I have never tried freezing for the winter. Maybe next year.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.34
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66361.53
ETH 3253.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.43