Fighting the sneaky measles as an adult with turmeric tea and lots of sleep

in #health7 years ago

measles-virus-particle-artwork-science-photo-library.jpg

Getting a measles jab when you are small apparently, doesn't guarantee you don't get sick! While I was writing my entry post for the Steemit Culinary Challenge more than a week ago, I thought I was slowly getting better after having a severe headache and fever for 3 to 4 days. Little did I know that the worst had still to come!

They always say that a childhood illness hits you harder when you are an adult... well right they are! It took me nearly two weeks from my first headache and fever to today being able to sit up, walk, talk and function. While my head and neck are still not entirely measle-free, the possibility to come out and get some fresh air is lurking just behind the corner!

Today I'm even planning to cook a meal!

Sneaky measles

Just when I thought I was getting better from the flu-like symptoms I was experiencing, red bumps sneakily started to appear on my whole face, neck, and chest. Still thinking everything was OK, the bumps quickly spread to my belly, back, and legs... paying the doctor a visit become inevitable as everybody started to back away... even my hubby didn't dare to come close...

IMG_20170303_100434.jpg

Definitely not one of my prettiest days :-)

While this happened last Wednesday, I'm still not entirely measle-free... but every day I get out of bed I'm hopeful to gaze in the mirror and see my normal face again... soon I hope.

Turmeric tea and sleep

While it was the first time for me to visit a Cambodian doctor since we arrived almost 2.5 years ago, I must say I trusted turmeric and sleep better than a few strange looking bags with who knows what kind of medication the doctor gave me and a morphine-baed cough syrup... thanks but no thanks!

IMG_20170309_161646 (1).jpg

Since the measles are caused by the highly contagious measles virus, no drug can fight this horrible intruder.... so turmeric tea and sleep it was for me! They were actually the only things that kept me a little bit sane during the past 2 weeks.... sitting insight when the hot season is kicking in is not so much fun....

IMG_0087.jpg

But hey I'm back and cooking so expect some new recipes starting from tomorrow!!!!

I missed ya all and hope you sincerely had a better two weeks than me!

Until next time!

Sort:  

@amy-goodrich Oh Asia .. I hope you get better soon
you really need to sleep!
I had them but they just come and go - cheer up
you'll be fine specially with turmeric ;)
did you get from kids?

Not sure where I got them from... one day they just appeared. Feeling a lot better today. Thanks for you ongoing support! Turmeric is great isn't it? Cures everything!

Sorry to hear how sick you've been with the measles! Sounds horrible.
I'm sure glad that I got them as a child, before the vaccination program started.
It is much easier as a child like you said,
and the stupid vaccine is failing anyways. It has just postponed the illness to older ages when it is tougher and potentially more dangerous. They just never thought it all out when they started that shot. There are all kinds of mumps outbreaks going on right now too in Canada and the US because that vaccine is pathetically poor at working/lasting. (I actually wrote about that here.)

Anyway, I'm glad that you are almost better.

Feeling better every day! Thanks for your comment. You sure are lucky to have got them when you were a child! Felt really horrible for almost 2 weeks! Think big Pharma never thinks it through when making a vaccine or many other drugs! Money is what they are thinking of! Sad, but true!

Ai, Amy you have all my sympathy. My ex went through all the childhood illnessess with his boys and he got really sick each time. He was my biggest baby.

Thanks @crazymumzysa! Feeling a lot better today and sick husbands are indeed the biggest baby's out there hehehe.... although I felt pretty Sh***t too.... but my hubby took good care of me!

I am glad you are feeling much better and back on steemit. Thank heavens for small mercies (husbands care).

True that! He even did the dishes all by himself for nearly 2 weeks.....

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Mar 09. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $3.92 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Mar 09 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 64196.23
ETH 2757.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71