Trouble Sleeping - Try This!

in #health7 years ago

accat02.jpg

I recently saw something somewhere, maybe on Facebook, about why you should sleep with your socks on. I didn't read the article as I didn't have time and then I lost it somewhere and never did read it.


barefeet.png

Lately, I have been having a hard time falling asleep and when it is time to get up and go to work I am always tired.
Most of the time I have been waking up several times during the night. Sometimes to go to the bathroom but mostly for no reason at all. Then it is hard to fall back to sleep. I thought it was something that just came with old age (I just turned 69 in September, wow, time flies!).
So one night I thought I would try sleeping with my socks on. To my surprise I had the best sleep I have had in a long time! So I thought I would do this for a week and see if it really did help. It was pretty incredible! I had a good sleep every night that week and I only had to get up once for a bathroom break all week. So I thought I would try to sleep without my socks on and that only lasted two nights and I had a horrible sleep for both nights so I went back to wearing my socks to bed again and again I have been sleeping great!

So why is this?


So I decided to look it up on the web and here is what I found out. For most people it is very beneficial to sleep with socks on. When you go to bed wearing socks they warm your feet. This, in turn, dilates the blood vessels in your feet, this is called vasodilation, and this sends a signal to you brain telling it that it is time to sleep. Heat is then better distributed throughout the body. This can stop or "even out" night sweats.
Some women find it helpful if they are experiencing "hot flashes" as it can help cool their core temperature.
It can also help if you have cracked skin on your heels. After you moisturize your feet, slip on a pair of cotton socks before bedtime and sleep with them on.
Some people have a condition called Raynaud’s disease. This is when the skin on your hands and feet, usually the fingers and toes, lose circulation and may swell and throb. By wearing socks to bed it keeps the blood circulating to these parts.
Perhaps the most interesting reason; researchers accidentally discovered that wearing socks can increase a persons ability to orgasm by 30%.
Just make sure the socks are on your feet! Haha!

What Are The Best Socks To Wear?

The best type of socks to wear to bed should be loose fitting and made with natural fibers. Merino wool socks or Cashmere socks are recommended. They may be a bit more expensive but are the best. I just wear my work socks. They are a blend of cotton and wool and are made by McGregor and these seem to work very well.
If you do get overheated and wake up you can take off your socks or just hang your feet out of the covers.
I like to sleep in a cold room so I usually don't have this problem. Not sure about the summertime as I don't have central air.
Don't wear the same socks you have had on all day. Wash you feet and dry them well, especially between the toes and then put on a fresh pair of socks. This will help stop bacteria and funguses on your feet. You can also put some capsaicin cream, which is a circulatory booster, mixed with an oil or cream. Just be careful using this as it can get hot!


Sweet Dreams, My Friends!

sleeping socks01.png

spacer01.png

All images are free to share and use.

rat03.jpg

Sort:  

You got a 1.70% upvote from @upme requested by: @acwood.
Send at least 1.5 SBD to @upme with a post link in the memo field to receive upvote next round.
To support our activity, please vote for my master @suggeelson, as a STEEM Witness

This post has received a 2.34 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @acwood. Send at least 1 SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field for a portion of the next vote.

To support our daily curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

Your post had been curated by the @buildawhale team and mentioned here:

https://steemit.com/buildawhale/@buildawhale/buildawhale-curation-digest-12-22-17

Keep up the good work and original content, everyone appreciates it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68559.31
ETH 2695.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.73