Hawaii Volcano

in #hawaii6 years ago (edited)

Kilauea Volcano Erupts


Picture Courtesy of Pixelbay

Kīlauea Volcano is a shield volcano located on the eastern slope of Mauna Loa Volcano on the Island of Hawai‘i. The volcano is considered to be in the shield-building stage of Hawaiian volcanism.

Kilauea Volcano full of hot molten Lava


Picture Courtesy of Pixelbay

Hawaii's Kilauea is not your typical blow-the-top-off kind of volcano. It's been simmering and bubbling for about 35 years, sending superhot hot lava spewing up through cracks in the ground.

Kilauea Volcano Hot Lava at Night


Picture Courtesy of Pixelbay

Kilauea is the youngest and most active of the five volcanoes on the Big Island. It's been erupting continuously since 1983.

Kilauea Volcano Hot Lava at Night


Picture Courtesy of Pixelbay

The lava is 2,200 degrees (1,200 degrees Celsius)

Kilauea Volcano Hot Lava at Night

Picture Courtesy of Pixelbay

The Hawaiian Islands only exists because of volcanoes. These volcanoes were created from "hot spots" of underground magma, which are mostly but not always underwater. The molten rock erupts on the sea floor, cools and forms a volcano. With each eruption, the volcano grows until it is big enough to push out of the water and form islands.

On May 4, 2018, a column of robust, reddish-brown ash plume occurred on the south flank of Kilauea, after a magnitude 6.9 earthquake shook the Big Island of Hawaii. #


Picture courtesy of USGS United States Geological Society

Where in the world is the Big Island of Hawaii Volcano

A lava flow from the Kilauea volcano moves along a street in Leilani Estates


(U.S. Geological Survey handout/Reuters )

A 2,000-foot-long fissure erupts within the Leilani Estates subdivision, on the east rift zone of the Kilauea volcano threatening homes of hundreds in Hawaii, on May 5, 2018

Photo By Bruce Omori / Paradise Helicopters / EPA-EFE / REX / Shutterstock

Power lines are pulled down by lava in Leilani Estates on May 5, 2018

Photo By Marco Garcia / AP and Atlantic Magazine

Fissure 3 at Leilani and Kaupili Streets in Leilani Estates on May 4, 2018. Lava on the road was approximately 2 meters thick.


Picture Courtesy of USGS

Lava covers the road in Leilani Housing Subdivision, Big Island, Hawaii


Picture courtesy of USGS United States Geological Society and Atlantic Magazine

Lava covers the road in Leilani Housing Subdivision, Big Island, Hawaii


Picture courtesy of USGS United States Geological Society

In this still frame taken from video, lava flows over a road in the Puna District as a result of the eruption from Kilauea Volcano on May 4, 2018

Photo By Byron Matthews via AP and Atlantic Magazine

Lava from the Kilauea volcano flows across a road in Leilani Estates, on Hawaii's Big Island, on May 5, 2018.

Photo By Marco Garcia / AP and Atlantic Magazine

Kilauea volcano erupts, on May 4, 2018, seen from Kalapana, Hawaii.

Photo By Marco Garcia / AP and Atlantic Magazine

**The Island of Hawai‘i with lava flows erupted in approximately the past 1,000 years shown in red. **

For the scientists or the curious
Hawaii’s Kilauea volcano has entered a new destructive period of eruptions, which has happened several times since it resumed producing lava in 1983. Here’s some context behind one of the world’s most active volcanoes, and Hawaii Island’s youngest:

Kilauea is mass building
Kilauea is currently in the second phase of growth, the “shield building” stage, where it is the most active and the most voluminous.

  1. Pre-shield -> Small eruptions below sea level.
  2. Shield building -> Volcanic mass grows above sea.
  3. Post-shield ->Magma cap flows, covers volcano.

References

Atlantic magazine Kilauea Lava flow on Big Island of Hawaii
https://www.theatlantic.com/photo/2018/05/photos-of-Kilaueas-newest-lava-fissures-on-hawaiis-big-island/559751/

USGS Volcano Hazards Program
https://volcanoes.usgs.gov/volcanoes/kilauea/geo_hist_summary.html

US Geological Survey
https://www.usgs.gov/

CBS News Science Behind Hawaii Volcanoes
https://www.cbsnews.com/news/hawaii-kilauea-volcano-lava-science/

USA Today: Science Behind Hawaii Volcanoes
https://www.usatoday.com/story/news/nation/2018/05/07/hawaii-volcano-science-behind-eruption-kilauea/586268002/

LA Times: The science behind the volcanic activity on Hawaii's Big Island
http://www.latimes.com/visuals/graphics/la-na-hawaii-volcano-explainer-20180509-htmlstory.html

Trip Advisor Visisting Kilauea Volcano on Big Island of Hawaii
https://www.tripadvisor.com/Attraction_Review-g29217-d105294-Reviews-Kilauea_Volcano-Island_of_Hawaii_Hawaii.html

CBS News Science Behind Hawaii Volcanoes
http://www.cbc.ca/news/technology/kilauea-volcano-hawaii-1.4651710

National Geographic magazine: science, myths of Kilauea Volcano
https://news.nationalgeographic.com/2018/05/kilauea-volcano-tsunami-explosive-hawaii-myths-explained-science/

Sort:  

Great photos! When I was there at the end of March there was just a little vog and the volcano was quiet. The one photo of the earth split open with lava spewing out looks like something out of a movie. I can't image what it would be like to experience this in person. I am in awe of the power of nature and the process of formation.

Thank you for the compliment on the photos. I am trying to be more visual and less wordy. I too am in awe of the power of nature here. During the big 6.9 earthquake I was inside a store and it was truly amazing to see the ceiling, walls and shelves shaking like someone picked up our world and just shook it like a toy! I probably should write a blog on my first earthquake, but I need to gather some interesting pictures first!
Thanks again for reading and commenting!

This is both beautiful and terrifying at the same time. My brother lives on the big island and thankfully wasn't affected by this eruption♡

Hi
I am glad to hear your brother wasn’t affected.
It’s is truly terrifying and beautiful at the same time.

Wow! I am glad your brother wasn't effected also. It must be scary to have to worry about these type of things, but with modern science giving us advanced warning I guess it is safe.

Thank you @lalai the price you pay to live in paradise I suppose lol

Hi Alexa,
I think your right lol, it's the bad days that make you appreciate the good ones.
:)
Speaking of good things, I visited your blog and I like your art, so I will follow you and support your blog. Eventually my blog will be like my instagram and full of flowers, sunsets and beautiful scenery.
@Lalai

Thanks @lalai I appreciate that! I'll return the follow :)

😓 I live here in Hawaii (although not on the same island). My friend's home was destroyed, but they're alive. Thank you for posting this to bring awareness of what's happening here. Thanks all for your continued thoughts and prayers too.

I am sorry to hear about your friends home. But I am very glad to hear they are alive and hopefully unharmed.
I have upvoted your comment and now follow you.

Thx so much // that means alot to me // Many blessings to you!

Thanks for the great info.

Thank you for stopping by to read my post.
I have upvoted your post and followed you.
Please resteem my article.

Really exciting pictures and very informative. It helps tell a tourist where the trouble is and where it is safe. Now I can plan my Hawaiian vacation with confidence. Thank You @shortsegments!

Thank you for your kind and encouraging words.

Great article. I live in Hawaii too and the rest of the world seems to think all the Hawaiian Islands are suffering, thanks for helping clear the air about what’s going on, love the pics.

Hi SaviiB,
Welcome to Steemit,
I am glad that your part of Hawaii is unaffected.
I hope you enjoy steemit, I hopoe you don't feel overwhelmed by the amount there is to learn, just allow yourself time to learn everything.
I suggest two things:

  1. Use the search function o find answers because a lot of people write helpful articles about Steemit.
  2. Download the Steemit white paper to use as a reference when you have questions.

Please feel free to follow my blog and write me when you have questions.
Take Care,
@shortsegments

What a good collection information

Hi
Thank you for reading my post and leaving positive comments.

Sir help me My PIN code has been stolen My ID name is richardalom help me sir

Hi
Go to the accounts recovery page:
https://steemit.com/recover_account_step_1
Follow the directions there.

I can not recover my ID because I can not recover because my ID and I do not have it

Resteemed by @pillsjee! Good Luck!
Check @pillsjee for most affordable Resteem service to make your post more popular!

For every time you SPAM my wallet with unsolicited advertisements, I will flag your comments. Thanks for understanding! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99