Lost Access to Where I Live in Big Island Due to Volcanic Lava Flow

in #hawaii6 years ago


(June 3 flow map courtesy from USGS Kilauea HVO website, all credit to USGS)


Ever since Kilauea started erupting with new fissures in Leilani Estates since May 2, Lower Puna in Big Island, Hawaii will FOREVER be changed.

Since the 5 weeks, many fissures have opened up in a line across Leilani Estates to Lanipuna Gardens all the way down to the top edge of Kapoho. There have been around 25 confirmed fissures, although as of June 3, only Fissure 8 has been the most vigorous.

Fissure 8 is located near Nohea Street in Leilani Estates, and it's flow has been moving northeast, and still continues to flow in that direction. It's already taken many homes along the way, including 2 of my friends homes as well as countless homes and property in the Vacationland area of Kapoho. 

Sadly, the flow has gone into the ocean, so the world famous snorkel spot of Kapoho Tide Pools is likely gone forever. I will miss snorkeling Kapoho Tide Pools, it's one of the more easy areas for inexperienced swimmers to swim a coral reef without fear of the open ocean.

I get asked, when will this flow stop?

No one has the answer. Not the geologist, not anyone.

She could be flowing for decades to come.

For example, the 1955 flow lasted around 3 months.

The start of Pu'u O'o flows started in January 1983 and have gone on all the way to the present time of 2018. That's more than 30 years of flows!

The house where I live has been cut off permanently.

Yes, the place where I rent in Lower Puna has been cut off.

The flow overtook the top part of Highway 132 and the bottom  part of Highway 132. Even the backyard dirt road path has been taken. So there is no access to the house anymore except via helicopter.

Again, who knows when the volcano activity will calm down. It could be awhile. 

Then again, between now and my return in August 3 ... SO much can happen. The house still stands for now, but the flow is only around 1/4 of a mile away. The flow could widen in that area due to the Green Lake crater in it's way.

And speaking about Green Lake crater ... ALL the water in that crater has boiled away. The lava filled the crater and in turn boiled the water. 

The first two photos below were taken from the Multimedia section of USGS website ... which provides daily updates on the volcanic activity from the standpoint of photos and clearly marked maps.

Definitely have a look at the USGS Kilauea HVO site, super informative!

What will I be doing?

Well since I already booked my trip, I still have June and July to get through til I return in August 3.

But honestly, I'm not sure where I will be living since access to the house I rent has been cut off.

We shall see ... I'm going with the flow.

I do believe that in some ways, this could be Pele (Hawaiian goddess) or simply the Universe's way of nudging me to change directions in my life. 

And man, have I had a LOT to think about where and which direction I'll go.


Where should I move next?

I've had Bali, Taipei, London, Barcelona, Mexico City, and New Zealand on my list.

Any other suggested places?


(Original photo credit to USGS. I overlaid Highway 132 and where I live, which is circled in red ... this photo is old, as the flow as made it across Railroad and Hwy 132. The lava has already hit Vacationland in Kapoho and entered the ocean near Kapoho Bay)


(Original photo credit to USGS. This photo shows how MASSIVE the lava flow fronts can get. Some flow fronts can be as high as 50 feet! Impressive. I think in this picture, the flow front is around 25-30 feet high!)


(The latest community map of lava flow as of June 3. This is unofficial, so please use the USGS Kilauea HVO to get the offical lava flow map overlay. If you would like to see this community updated map, check out this link)


Sort:  

I never knew lava flows lasted that long! Pele must be reclaiming the land. How ever long it takes for the flow to stop I hope your Whare (house) will be safe. But if it's meant to be, you can always visit Aotearoa!

Yes I'm looking forward to visiting Aotearoa for the first time. A long time ago when I was memorizing various country anthems ... the one I still remember singing is the New Zealand anthem, but only remembering the Maori part of the anthem. I definitely want to check out Auckland all the way to Wellington.

Any neighborhoods that you can suggest I should stay?

Oh man. What a stressful situation. I have to say, this must be one of those cases where you're grateful to be a renter. Does homeowner's insurance even cover situations like this? Do you have a lot of personal possessions left behind in the house?

There are insurance in that area ... however, at a huge premium. They determine base on the lava zone risks, so people living in Lava Zone 1 don't really have many options to purchase lava insurance except with Loyds of London ... and they can ask for as much as $4,000 USD per year. It's quite expensive, so not many people in the area can afford to buy lava insurance. People might say, why live there? It's because Lower Puna is one of the more affordable areas of the entire state of Hawaii ... so the poorest do move there, even amidst the pockets of wealthy neighborhoods that dot across Lower Puna.

Wow, that's a shame. Really setting up our poorest citizens for a disaster. But what else is new?

It's much the same on Cape Cod, where flood insurance is unobtainable for most people. Living in a tourist area is always difficult for the people who need to work there.

Those are some GREAT pics of eyes on the ground.
But not sure I would want to be where the ground around me could blow anytime... it’s oozing now but what if it really is ready to blow?
I would be gone already!!

May allah help you from the danger.Try to be safe place.

wow that is close. I pray that your house is still standing by August's time :)

For horror

I wonder if nature is angry

I hope to find a good environment and leave it for good luck

thanks for information friend

Natural disasters are so freaking destructive

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Hawaii is one of the most beautiful places to the visitor. You have described it in your post. Your photos are so nice.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 69262.56
ETH 3778.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.51