Dragon Fruit Haturday

in #haturday7 years ago


This hat represents a company my husband's nephew used to work for. My memory is a little fuzzy - you know, how you listen to a story and hear half and remember only a portion of that. What I think I remember is that it was a skateboard company. I could be wrong.
But I know that we have this hat in many colors...
Do you see the dragon fruit behind me. When it blooms, it is just beautiful. But it is not a self-fruiting plant and I only got one fruit from at least 100 blossoms. Need to figure out what is a good pollinator for this one.


144.png
Created with Steepshot
View in the web app

4.png

Sort:  

And it also taste good! Hard to find dragonfruit theses days... I waaaaant!

Hope they didn't all get destroyed. the good news is that they grow from cuttings really easily!!

That’s a cool hat and interesting about the plantvdo let us know if you work out a way to get more

Yup. need to plant a variety close by which blooms at the same time - then hand pollinate....

Ohh really so good luck for next year

The moths are excellent pollinators, in my garden they help a lot!

Yes, they are!!

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #smartphonephotography, the weekly selection will be released on Sunday.

You have earned 5.65 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.13
Server time: 00:08:11
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 157.85/200.00
Total Photos: 18
Total comments: 22
Total contest wins: 1
And have also received a 0.71 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Haha! When I was young, "OPM" stood for "other people's marijuana" - what everyone wanted to smoke!
I am having no luck finding you on discord, I hope this was nothing urgent! Wait! I found you! But you aren't there any more lol!

not urgent. Just wanted to run something by you. And that might be what the hat stands for knowing my nephew lol

That is some serious dragonfruit you got there! I have a few cuttings that are starting to take off at my dad's house right now. I'm hoping they'll make some serious progress this season!

They will!! Just make sure you give them some water (more than other succulents) and they like to be fertilized ever so often. do you know the variety?

I actually don't know the variety as I was gifted it by a kind stranger. What type of fertilizer do you recommend?

I use organic stuff only - worm castings, fish emulsion once in a while, compost... I think you are in San Diego, right? Are you ever interested in a steemit meetup?
And we have lots of dragon fruit at our sustainability center if you want to add some varieties. Some will not fruit if you only have one kind....

Awesome! I'm actually in LA, but @halcyondaze is in SD and runs a popular gardening website. I can swing down if you give me heads up on the next Steemit meetup! We should do a seed and cuttings exchange :)

sounds good :)

haturday is all about randomness lol I try to include a different background and a little story with each hat :) It is about having fun.

You're so nice for commenting on this post. For that, I gave you a vote!

THIs is beautiful

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60654.57
ETH 2343.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48