Tennessee Haturday

in #haturday6 years ago (edited)

Woohoo! I’m here, in beautiful Tennessee. The trees are green and the birds are singing. They were even singing at 2am. Don’t you sleep, birds?

Speaking of sleeping, the twins and I got 13 hours of sleep last night! We needed it after our adventure! But before I tell you about it, here's a shot inspired by the #haturday tag @saffisara came up with a while ago.

TN-haturday.JPG


The Journey


My twin 3.5 year old boys and I started out in BC, Canada, at our local airport. So nice to begin a journey from a small airport where it isn’t busy and the people are nice. In fact, every WestJet employee I encountered was wonderful. Yay for WestJet!

We took a small plane to Calgary airport, where we had just enough time to get to our next gate before they started boarding. Then came the longest leg of our trip, flying across much of the country to Toronto.

I’ve never been to Toronto before, but I can’t actually count this trip as a visit, as we only saw the airport and a hotel, where the same staff member who checked us in just after midnight was there when we left in the morning.

I didn't really sleep in that hotel bed. The kids did, at least, but I kept waking up, wondering if it was time to get ready to catch the next flight—even though I had two alarms set. At least I got up with enough time to do yoga.

Apparently they want you to get to the airport 3 hours early for international flights now. WTF? That’s too much time.

Oh well, back to Toronto airport we went, me and my kids and one large suitcase. We went through a ridiculous amount of lines to do security and customs, then got to our gate with nearly an hour to spare.

Did we camp out on some chairs and get more sleep? No, the boys and I did sets of stairs.


(via giphy)

Okay, maybe not like this, but WOW! Something to work towards. ;)

We were at a little gate at the bottom of an escalator, and the boys haven’t done moving stairs much, so we walked up the regular stairs, then rode down. Again, and again, and again. We probably did ten sets of stairs. It was good to get a bit of a workout. I would’ve liked to do it faster, without my crazy-heavy backpack, but hey, at least we got some exercise.

We boarded one more plane, and were on our way to Tennessee!!!

Sometimes you luck out with the person sitting next to you on a plane. This was the case on the last leg of our trip. The plane was small, so the boys sat on one side and I took the aisle seat on the other side, next to a gentleman who lives in the country outside Toronto. We talked almost the whole time. Absolutely fascinating person—he’s a pilot and runs a charity helping kids around the world, and I feel blessed just getting to know him a little on our journey. We landed in Nashville, where my parents were waiting for us.

I’m super impressed with how well my kids did. This was my first solo trip with them, and the boys were troopers!

Today we got to a small playground, but are mostly sticking around the house. They’ve got a bit of sniffles, but are in good spirits and I expect they’ll be feeling 100% soon. We’ll explore the area playground by playground, and hopefully meet up with @enginewitty and his kids soon!

There’s something wonderful about staying with my parents, feeling taken care of in a way I don’t get otherwise. I’m writing this from the comfort of their living room. Outside, the birds are singing.

I hope you’re doing well, wherever you are. Thanks for reading!

Peace. @katrina-ariel

Katrina Ariel


Author bio: Katrina Ariel is an old-soul rebel, musician, tree-hugging yogini, and mama bear to twins. Author of Yoga for Dragon Riders (non-fiction) and Wild Horse Heart (romance), she's another free-spirit swimming in the ocean of Steemit.

dragon
dragon art: Liiga Smilshkalne


IOW COLOR LOGO.png
Banner by @PegasusPhysics

the alliance
Banner by @bearone

Steemsugars

Sort:  

I have never been to Tennessee, soon I hope

So far I love it. Hope you get to visit sometime! :)

This post has been deemed resteem & upvote worthy by your @ecs (eastcoaststeem) community leaders @chelsea88 & @inthenow

Thanks! I'm officially in EastCoastSteem territory now, eh? ;)

Celtic Knots! Sweet hat! Had to press this because, you know, Tennessee lol

I love that hat, yes! Thanks for the resteem love. A glorious day today with the sunshine!

Got curated by OCD, supasweet😎

challenge overcome! I only have one of almost 3 years old and it is a bit traumatic to travel with him and all the things that I have to carry in my suitcase, but even so he is happy and has already adapted very well to planes, I hope you have a great time and enjoy the grandparents or vice versa, greetings dear friend.

Yes! Sometimes it can be intimidating to take care of kids and all the details of travel, but I find my kids thrive on the new experiences travel brings. So glad to hear your child has also adapted well to planes. :) Thanks for stopping by and for your kind comment!

ohhh girl... good work! traveling with kids is soooo hard! I once flew from Seattle WA to Los Angeles (only a 2.5 hour flight) alone with a surly teenager, my 'Irish twins' at 3 and 4years old and an infant.

Pretty much I can do absolutely anything after that.

;)

lol! Yes, you can pretty much do anything after that. Sounds like a ton of work. Hopefully the teenager at least helped carry things and hold hands. Good on ya! Sometimes you gotta give yourself credit for being a super mom. Thanks for the encouragement! ;)

There is something wonderful about once a child, always a child while visiting parents. I always have wonderful meals cooked for me and help with my children that I don't get anywhere else whiling visiting mine. Enjoy your visit!

YES! That simplicity of having someone else cook for you and take care of the kids so you can have a bit of time to yourself... priceless. And my parents are wonderful in so many other ways. Glad you can relate. Thanks for the sweet comment!

I love your hat!!! Yeah, I think birds do not sleep, or at least they sleep very little lol. I am happy to read that you had a great flight and met that interesting man. Hotels can be strange but at least your kids got some sleep if mommy did not. Have a great day honey, you, kids and the birds 💚

Thanks so much, sweet steem-sister! I love that hat, too. Nice to find a ballcap with an elegant design. Love knotwork like that. Loving the birds, the kids, the parents, and the rest. ((hugs))

I'm glad to se you settling in and after your well deserved rest now can explore the environment
That is a beautiful picture and I love your cap 😉
I hope you have an amazing time and se as much as you can and I look forward to se your adventure... Lol
I hope you have a great meet up and I'm so jealous that you all get to meat, wish I could to but it's not like next door.... Lol
Hug each other from me to and that will be a meeting full of amazing people and You my friend are unique 🤗💜
Wish you and your kids a Fantastic day and much love! 💗💗

One day we'll get to a meetup together, my friend. Thanks for all the good vibes. Big hugs!!!

I'm sure we will and I'm soo looking forward to it 😊 actually give You a real hug 🤗 and to hang with the amazing Kat. Stay as you are and my pleasure. I hope you feel better and are enjoying Tennessee. ❤️

Dear @katrina-ariel. What a wonderful and fun post. The way you write sounds very familiar, so I kind of felt being there with you guys doing the set of stairs and witnessing with my own eyes the whole trip. Hope you guys keep enjoying together those amazing moments in life, and of course, every time you feel like sharing them with us, we are gonna have some fun too :)

Aw, so glad you enjoy my writing! Thank you! That's something an author always likes to hear. ;) I'll keep posting our adventures as I can. My very best to you. :)

What a flashy violet hat–I like your style. This #haturday tag reminds me of Jamiroquai! I saw him in concert once, and he had a sky-high white feather hat.

Fun hats are the best. And Jamiroquai has serious style. Great song, thanks for dropping it here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54733.25
ETH 2475.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.15