My entry for the writing contest: Can you see the future? Hardforkseries.

I haven't written any fiction in a while, so when I saw this contest come up in my feed I thought I'd give it a go.
Usually I need days to think about a story, or months or even years. But somehow this story came to me right away.
I finished this about an hour after reading about the contest first, but didn't want to be the first one haha.

The Ripple Effect

When I see my partner’s face pop up on the wall this morning at first I think I am going to get another rant about how she wasn’t able to collect her crypt-go again.
I'm getting ready to explain it to her for the thousandth time, but her bright smile stops me in my tracks.

“You got it!”
“I got what?”
“The interview!”

I almost choke on my coffee when I jump off my chair,
not bothered to gesture the vision wall to shut off and as I'm sliding towards the door I yell:
“See you in 10 minutes!”

For a moment I think of walking, then chuckle at the thought: it would take me at least half an hour in this traffic since everyone seems to have taken on oxbit-training.
Excited about what is to come, I step out of the Flo-Vator and onto the Zoom-walk.
For weeks I’ve been waiting to get the call but somehow I'm still surprised when it finally came.

As I zoom past a few walkers, I catch a glimpse of the news wall.
The headlines mention something about old presidents. Intrigued to find out what they want this time, I zoom off and rest my eyes on the text in front of me.

“Old presidents ask the free people for pardon.”
A little smile builds on my lips when I meet a young man’s eyes.
Well, he’s probably in his 50’s, but with the new oxbit, everyone looks and feels much younger.
Hard to guess an age really...

He smiles back at me, then gestures at the wall. “Good luck with that huh?”
“Yeah, I’d like to see them get out of that bunker in Alaska. It’s fool proof, at least that’s what they told us when they built it right? No one in or out. So even a pardon isn’t gonna help them.”
“Can you imagine…” he pauses for a moment, then continues: “the rest of their lives in a place like that?”
“Well, they dug their own graves... literally.”
“But I bet they’re having a great time playing chess with the pope and the royal families…” I add, not hiding the sarcasm in my voice. The man laughs out loud.

I check the headline beside it that shows me that Steem has gone down to 40,000 again.
“Just great…” I think and realise I forgot about the time. I quickly wave the man good-bye as I continue my way to the office on the zoom.

Only seconds later, I hear my Eye-phone ringing. Knowing it’s my partner I swiftly move my hand for it to come on. “What’s up Beth?”
“You need to hurry! He’s on his way!”
“What?!? I thought…” Beth interrupts me and I hear the irritation in her voice when she repeats:
“HE IS ON HIS WAY!!”
“OK, two minutes and I’ll be there.”
“You better be…” I hear before she disconnects.

At this point I am running on the zoom and annoyed by all those people who decided to use it today I am zig-zagging past them. Not long until I see the building in front of me and I pick up my step a little more.

I was not going to miss speaking to the man who sparked the revolution that brought us all to where we are today. A whistleblower, ex politician and stand-up guy to some, to me Luke Flanagan is a true hero. After all, we needed a man in politics to blow the whistle or people would have stayed in their slumber forever. The few of us weren't able to awaken the masses.

Even at the speed I’m going, I manage to smile a little. Deep in thoughts, I completely forget about the part where the Zoom ends in front of our building and before I know it I am flying towards the door, headfirst, just when a man with long dark hair steps out of the door and onto the street. With all my might I try to regain some of my balance but going at that speed, of course I fail completely.
“Feckin’ ripple!” I yell as I inelegantly crash into him and almost pull the both of us down to the ground. With the speed of lightning his arm shoots forward and he grabs mine before I fall flat on my face. Flustered and sweaty as I'm trying to regain some of my posture and dignity, I look up and into the eyes of an amused Luke.
“Feckin’ ripple yourself!” he smiles.

REVOLUTION.jpg

giphy (2).gif

Sort:  

Thank you! 😊

That's great! You had me laughing out loud. Feckin' ripple! LOL

Haha, yeah I had to add something Irish lol. I'm glad it made you laugh, coming from you that really means a lot. Thanks for taking the time to read it @lenadr 😘

When I read that the savior of the world was named "Flanagan," I figured this was a fairly pro-Irish world. LOL Actually that's what made me laugh first!
Have you heard of the Writer's Block in Discord? You'd fit right in!

https://steemit.com/writing/@rhondak/the-writers-block-workshops-for-steemit-authors

Haha, Luke Flanagan is actually a real person. I have a post from a few days ago that features him in the video about the PESCO meeting. He represents Ireland in the European parliament and is one of a few politicians who actually cares about the people. He is also a personal friend, since he is from the town where I first lived when I moved to Ireland. Interesting guy to say the least. My youngest son's grandfather used to teach him in elementary school and after the man passed he said once in an interview that it had been him who pushed him towards the path he is on now...So to me he is already a hero. At first I wanted to make Dave Grohl into the hero of the story, but then I thought, besides good music what else is he gonna do? LOL. I am on the writers block discord, but haven't done much yet. But this was an awesome way to start. Thank you for vote of confidence!

Congratulations @misslasvegas! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Great post! I love the idea that all the movers and shakers are locked up in a bunker. I don't even care if they're eating caviar for breakfast as long as they're not interfering with decent folk.
Sweet!
Good luck!

Thank you! Yes, that was exactly my thought. As long as they're gone and can't bother anyone.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97