You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: HAPPY BIRTHDAY! (VIDEO from President Residential Ground) | 生日快乐 (总统府拍之视频) 😎 (by @ace108)

in #happybirthday6 years ago

That is pretty cool they sung Happy Birthday to the country! I don't know much about the history of Singapore so I'm actually surprised to hear it is only 53 years old. I'm also still surprised they sing it in English as well. I know you told me English is the national language.

When I was in Sydney one of the other mentors at the EOS Hackathon was from Hong Kong and he had an American accent and I asked him how his English sounded like that and he said he went to an American school his whole life there and he said he didn't know Chinese which surprised me .

Sort:  

Well, officially the National language is Malay but the language use for the law and commercial reasons is English.
I'm sure there are more people like the guy you met who grew up speaking other language such as English in America and UK most likely. However, even it Singapore, while the education system encourage the study of the mother tongue as a second language, some people still find it tough because their families have predominantly spend English at home which may sound kind of sad but I guess that's just the way things happen to some people.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 57339.41
ETH 2522.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31