MY RATHER PECULIAR JOB?

in #happy7 years ago


When I tell people what I do for a living they look at me funny. I could be wrong. But it looks like their response is a combination of two thoughts. On the one hand, pity, as if to say, man you are behind the times. On the other hand, total bewilderment.  I think the reason why people respond this way, is because they may not understand that translation is a profession. 

Now I’m not talking about certified legal translations. Most people would recognize that there are people who translate legal documents for a living, and have some sort of stamp that they put on it. But apart from that, you can just use Google Translate, right?  

Sort:  

Translators are very, very important, don't pay attention who people who don't value your job. They are important in not just written but in real time oral translation. Be proud of what you are and what you do!

Yes, I agree. What do you do?

Hi @juansero can I ask you a huge favour, can you resteem this for me? I think it is good but didn't have much steem power at the time to get people to notice it.

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the second half of Jul 12. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $16.19 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jul 12 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Here is a lot different. When I say I am a translator, people look at me and say: "wow, you know languages, it is so difficult"! Maybe this is cultural!

Nice post of yours @pjcswart!

Where do you live? Thanks for the compliment!

You're welcome! I live in Petrópolis, a small city colonized by Germans in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil.

What are the Germans doing there?

Hi @manandezo can I ask you a huge favour, can you resteem this for me? I think it is good but didn't have much steem power at the time to get people to notice it.

When it comes to earning one's bread and milk a person has gotta do what a person has gotta do. For as long as there is a demand for your services you may as well cater as supply.

Google Translate has made improvements - especially so when it comes to translations between some languages.

However in the case of other language translations, Google Translate can be comically or tragically inaccurate - sometimes reversing the meaning of the text translated.

(Imagine such a misinterpretation of "I do want to be your friend so lets not fight." ;cP)

I agree GT has improved a lot. They have a new algorithm now I think. What do you do?

On one level I work in tech support.
On another level I dream of getting into game design and development.
On another level I am interested in product development.
And on another level I am a path forger.

Shall we settle on the term 'professional amateur'? ;c)

Yeah ok sure, what is a path forger?

A path forger is one who beats out a new path where there appears to be none, or clears out the debris upon paths relatively explored but fallen into disrepair.

The kinds of paths that a path forger forges can be various.

Well pathforger, you came to the right place to use all your skills. Shoot for the moon!! You've got my vote.

Thank you very kindly for the encouragement @thethreehugs! :c)

Yes, this platform does push me to improve. There appear to be limitations that I am growing ever more aware of but they are nothing that I cannot work around. ^_^

Thanks again!

Hi @pathforger can I ask you a huge favour, can you resteem this for me? I think it is good but didn't have much steem power at the time to get people to notice it.

But of course @pjcwart. Resteemed.

As a newer user I well know how it goes when one's post is overlooked. I tend to reference it again in a subsequent 'rundown' post. And I can always develop any concept for another post further down the road - or simply come up with new material. ^_^

Yeah makes sense. My steem power is going up so I have these old posts that are good but low value.

Thanks so much for the resteem. I am actually trying to understand how it affects your reputation and earnings when you resteem things. Do you know?

I like to think that I am like that sometimes, and I have been one before.

Any person upon this Earth can be a path forger - and there have been many, many before me.

I am merely the first one who calls himself one. ;c)

You are welcome to be the second.

I taught someone how to become a freelance translator and they said I forged the path for them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64504.36
ETH 3414.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51