You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: MY RATHER PECULIAR JOB?

in #happy7 years ago (edited)

On one level I work in tech support.
On another level I dream of getting into game design and development.
On another level I am interested in product development.
And on another level I am a path forger.

Shall we settle on the term 'professional amateur'? ;c)

Sort:  

Yeah ok sure, what is a path forger?

A path forger is one who beats out a new path where there appears to be none, or clears out the debris upon paths relatively explored but fallen into disrepair.

The kinds of paths that a path forger forges can be various.

Well pathforger, you came to the right place to use all your skills. Shoot for the moon!! You've got my vote.

Thank you very kindly for the encouragement @thethreehugs! :c)

Yes, this platform does push me to improve. There appear to be limitations that I am growing ever more aware of but they are nothing that I cannot work around. ^_^

Thanks again!

Hi @pathforger can I ask you a huge favour, can you resteem this for me? I think it is good but didn't have much steem power at the time to get people to notice it.

But of course @pjcwart. Resteemed.

As a newer user I well know how it goes when one's post is overlooked. I tend to reference it again in a subsequent 'rundown' post. And I can always develop any concept for another post further down the road - or simply come up with new material. ^_^

Yeah makes sense. My steem power is going up so I have these old posts that are good but low value.

Steem power mostly affects the weight of your curation rathere than how much your posts earn. True followers are a better meassure for such.

OK so curation is like how much your upvotes count right?

Exactly. The weight of the Steem Power backing your vote also impacts what percentage of curation awards are due to you.

Thanks so much for the resteem. I am actually trying to understand how it affects your reputation and earnings when you resteem things. Do you know?

Well... as I understand it a Resteem by a person brings a topic up to the top of that person's folllowers' 'Home' section. It also shows up in the person's 'blog' (which is why it is inadvisable to serial-resteem - it dilutes the flavour of your blog).

In theory a person with 1000 followers resteeming your message is 10 times more potent than a resteem by a person with 100 followers. Its simply more chances to be seen. And integrity with one's resteems makes them more valuable (i.e. only resteem stuff that you feel you feel strongly about or your followers would be interested in). :c)

OK I think I get it so do you only resteem stuff that your followers will like? But how do you know what they like?

This was a generic tip (tapping into popular opinion is an option).

I personally focus more upon the content that 'I' feel to be interesting and important by my own reckoning. It helps keep materials on my blog relevant.

I like to think that I am like that sometimes, and I have been one before.

Any person upon this Earth can be a path forger - and there have been many, many before me.

I am merely the first one who calls himself one. ;c)

You are welcome to be the second.

I taught someone how to become a freelance translator and they said I forged the path for them.

Nobody told me that I forged a path for them. I simply know that I am walking that path. :c)

That being said, its great that you empowered a person within this field. The full magnitude of your action you may only truly see years down the line - and hopefully it'll be positive - you meant well either way. ^_^

YES. It takes time, very satisfying. What paths are you forging do you think right now?

That is what I have found also.

I have narrowed myself down to 5 branches at this point (this is the why and this is the how).

Cool thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 59264.94
ETH 2604.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38