HAPPINESS CONTEST 01 - The Simple Things

in #happinesscontest6 years ago (edited)

It's way too easy to complain, or talk about all that's wrong in the world, how we've been mistreated or the things that make us tick. We say we don't have enough time or don't make enough money. But how often do we stop and talk about the things that make us happy? What brings you true joy?

This contest created by @zen-art is a great way to spread some cheer and also reminds us to stop and smell the roses a bit. Spend some time in our own happy places. For me? I like to keep it simple. Quality time with the people I love.

Playing with my dogs

Quinn balledited.jpg

It's true unconditional love. But what I love most is their playful spirit. That seemingly endless youthfulness that pulls me out of any funk I happen to be in at the time. When they look me in the eye, full of love and wonder, I can't help but smile and give in to whatever it is they want. I particularly love the time we spend on walks. We're bonding, but I also get a little bit of "me" time. It's my time to think and reset while making them happy too. Sometimes we stop for a little swim. That's my girl Quinn; she is always smiling!

Smiles are contagious, and make me happy!

12314148_10207750235650243_716308941412880825_oedited.jpg

Appiepearl.png

One on One time with my niece and nephews

My brother has three children. A 5 year old daughter and twin 3 year old boys. As a family we spend a lot of time together. But what truly makes me happy is when I have one on one Auntie dates with each of them. During these dates they each get spoiled just a little more than normal. We develop little inside jokes and do things that are exclusively for us. These kids, in many ways, changed my view of happiness. I thought I was happy. But nothing, and I mean NOTHING, brings me as much joy as watching these little humans grow up.

Zie shoppingedited.jpg

This is McKenzie (5). She's as girlie girl as you can get. Everything in her life is pink (except her school uniform, much to her disappointment). Zie likes me to take her shopping.

Parker trainedited.jpg

This is Parker. He's quiet and sweet and LOVES to ride the little train in Las Vegas's Town Square. We usually grab a smoothie for the ride, and yep, Auntie let's him drink the whole sugar-laden thing! This is us sitting in the caboose one Sunday this summer.

Hungeredited.jpg

Hunter is our party boy. While the others like to sit and play, he'd much rather be up and running around. His smile melts me, and I'm positive he knows it.

Appiepearl.png

LOVE

An unexpected happiness I found this summer. The best part of my day every day is spending time with this guy. We don't go out on extravagant date nights, we mostly just hang out. I'm absolutely at my happiest when we're sitting on the couch together chatting about our days, or random little nothings that crack us both up. He doesn't mind that my puppy is her happiest when sitting on his head. He doesn't mind that the things I mentioned above sometimes take up my time; in fact he's happy to come along! Bad cell phone photo, but this is a typical night in my happiest of places.

jPedited.jpg

Appiepearl.png

It's all very simple, really

Life is hard. And yet I'm still a very happy person. Some think it happens naturally, but the reality is that we all make a choice every single day. We can be happy and enjoy what life has given us, or we can stew in the ugliness of the world. For me, I choose to be happy. I let things roll off my back when I need to. I don't tolerate drama or negativity. I take time for me, and I put myself in my happy places.

So don't sit around and wait for happiness to hit you over the head with a brick. It just won't happen. Go find it. Go MAKE it. Everybody has something that makes them smile. Make it a point in your day to do, or be with, those things. You don't need an expensive tropical vacation or a trip to Disneyland to be happy. Find joys in the simple things. How about a cheap beer outside on a nice day with a good friend? Or a nature walk? Seen any sunsets lately?

beeredited.jpg

natureedited.jpg

sunset.jpg

Sort:  

Aww you seem like a great Aunt, the type a sibling would love their kids to have :)

This post is oozing of happiness and it makes me happy for you too :)

Thank you! I had an Auntie gig today with McKenzie. I read to her preschool class and then we went to McDonalds for the play place and some M&M McFlurries 😊

Aww so sweet :)

Your dog really does look like she's smiling! Such a beauty! I'd like to get a German Shepherd someday myself. Our canine companions really are special, as are little children. If only we could see life through their eyes! Very insightful and inspiring. Thanks for sharing!! 😊

She totally smiles all the time. Which means so do I :)

Ohhh such a cute puppy :) We had a malamute that sadly passed away soon three years ago. Still miss her.
But she got to be an old lady at the age of 13. Beautiful post :)

Thank you! I thought about a malamute before i got the puppy, but i guess I’m sticking husky for now lol. Sorry for your loss 😔

Malamutes are a bit more quite than huskys but I'm not sure about what else sets them apart (other than the looks).
Thank you <3

Yeah that is alot to be happy about. Good luck in the contest.

nice write up thanks for educating us

Puppy hats are all the fashion these days ;-)

Who doesn’t love a good wet and hairy puppy hat?

Happiness is wonderful. Glad you achieved some. It Is to do with the direction of your viewing. Contentedness and less wanting has much to do with it. I believe happiness is a choice, and it presents over and over, until we've trained ourselves to accept it as the default, so all others state are looking for a balanced way back into happiness.
--Keep on keeping on.
Resteemed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68960.63
ETH 3804.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70