Training for the Olympics of Happiness

in #happiness7 years ago

549310f95632ed61f931c11705d41d9d--un-international-days-international-day-of-happiness.jpg

We all have to admit that we have a desperate craving during our life in pursuing happiness. Why do we have this urge in being in a specific mental state the we can categorize as happy. Although the triggers that we associate in helping us to get in this mental state can vary per person, being in this state is the same for everybody.

Let's have a small look how our body facilitates in this proces as an FedEx service:
A myosin protein dragging an endorphin along a filament to the inner part of the brain’s parietal cortex which creates happiness see visualization below

How is it triggered?
Think of all the happy moments in the past and do you see a pattern for yourself? Was it it you and only you that decided to choose to be happy at each situation. A new car money holiday etc… can’t enforce you to be happy only one that can is you.
So is it just like a light switch that you can turn on? In theory it is and I am training myself now for a couple of years in choosing in which mental state I want to walk around in life. From my experience I can say it was hard in the beginning but I am now more on the driver seat regarding my emotions.

Training for the Happiness Olympics
There are a couple of rules that I apply on a daily base to train myself.

  • Be aware of the mental state that you’re in. Sounds easy but it is not. Most of the time we are in auto pilot and not aware of our emotions until we are surprised with it . So what did I do in the beginning to train this. Set a reminder for myself a couple times a day (you can use your phone or any other device to do a little check on your emotional state.
  • After a while you become more aware during the day and less on auto pilot
  • Acknowledge each emotion as it is (do not enforce yourself to be happy)
  • When you become more the observer of yourself it is easy to let go of emotions that do not serve you

Where do I stand now
I am now in a phase that I walk around in life with less negative emotions. I still encounter situations that I get angry , sad or afraid but the time to transfer this to a positive emotional state is as fast as lightning. As we all know we can only be in control of ourselves and how we react on situations but we are not in control of the environment.

images.jpg

Sort:  

you are lucky that now you can choose in which mental state you want to walk around in life...for me is imposible...if something goes wrong i am sad and i am keep thinking at that problem till i find a solution...i can't even pretend that i am happy when i am not.

Hi Gabrysi I needed to work a lot to come to this level ,,, and still I find myself in scenarios that I am not in control but to do practice I can turn this very quickly . We are at our best when we are in a positive state definately for finding solutions to problems

you know...sometimes i just dont want to forgive(is like punishing somebody for what they did) ..is the only way for somebody realise that they did something wrong and it is the only way to make them regret...if you keep forgive than they get used and they keep hurting you,they keep repeating the same mistakes forever...

Who are we punishing when we hold a grudge (it’s like taking poison our self and hoping the other one to die). What works form me is to express my feelings, accept what happened and distance from the situation or person and go on with my life.

i agree...is better

Congratulations @spiritualquark! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56443.25
ETH 2493.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.23