Magnesium for anxiety

in #happiness7 years ago

Sadly recovering from certain mental disorders like anxiety, sometimes takes a long time, which means that for that period you aren't going to enjoy the best quality of life.

Often with many relapses, it is important to find something to ease your pain while you are addressing the main cause.

I was never a fan of psych drugs, they have to many side effects and I heard some stories of people becoming addicted, so I was always interested in alternatives.

One of the best thing I used is a magnesium supplement, it didn't necessarily fix any of my problems but it made a big difference at the time I was suffering.

It is estimated that 80% of the population is deficient in magnesium, the reason for that being poor diet rich in processed foods as well industrial agriculture practices, that deplete the minerals from the soil.

I was on a very healthy diet where I was eating regularly some of the foods with the biggest concentration of magnesium like: spinach, pumpkin seeds, sunflower seeds etc. I was never shown to be deficient on the regular blood test that you get at the doctor periodically, and yet still supplementing relived some of my symptoms.

So I would give this one a try even if you think that you are getting it from the food, you never know how reliable food is today, to give you all the nutrients you need. The supplement are cheap and the upside is huge as well as risk free. The worst thing that could happen is if you take to much it is going to have a laxative effect.

Below is a list with some of the most common symptoms of deficiencies:

Neurological:

Behavioral disturbances
Irritability and anxiety
Lethargy
Impaired memory and cognitive function
Anorexia or loss of appetite
Nausea and vomiting
Seizures

Muscular:

Weakness
Muscle spasms (tetany)
Tics
Muscle cramps
Hyperactive reflexes
Impaired muscle coordination (ataxia)
Tremors
Involuntary eye movements and vertigo
Difficulty swallowing

Metabolic:

Increased intracellular calcium
Hyperglycemia
Calcium deficiency
Potassium deficiency

Cardiovascular:

Irregular or rapid heartbeat
Coronary spasms

Sort:  

Great article. I love magnesium and promote it's use when ever I am able. It really is surprising how many ailments can be traced back to magnesium deficiencies. Thank you for your contribution.

Cheers,

Sean

So, I did my cyber stalking of your blog. You have some awesome content. I'm definitely going to follow. Check out my blog @seanengman and see if it worth following.

Cheers,

Sean

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63294.77
ETH 2638.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70