Custom Birthstone Tree of Life Pendants

in #handmade6 years ago

So after I posted my Trees of Life for sale I immediately was bombarded by questions about making them with birthstones for families. It sounded like a great idea! I love making them and the extra money doesn't hurt. @tiredmama and I took a trip to the largest city 2 hours away and visited 3 different places that carry stone chip beads. We visited Hobby Lobby (which had their beads for 50% off). We visited Michael's (which had about 1/4 of their beads at 70% off). We also visited Springfield Leather Company. We quickly found that SLC should have been our first stop. They had everything I couldn't find in the other stores and at great prices. Plus...the store smells like leather and oohhhhhh does that ever make me happy.

I also got some organizers (60% off) for my beads, and more wire. Lots more wire. I'm going to need it.

Then I got started! Here are examples of a few of the custom ones I made over the last week and what their "pattern" is. Enjoy!

20180325_173237.jpg
Scattered

20180325_173250.jpg
Ray Lines, this one is actually the lady's astrological signs stones as well as her son's birthstones in the middle.

20180325_181231.jpg
Another Ray Line example

20180325_181254.jpg
Scattered

20180322_144307.jpg
Solid Branches arrangement

20180322_203700.jpg
Scattered

Some birthstones are just outrageously out of my price range, such as diamond and ruby. However, there are alternative birthstones. Here is the list of the birthstones I use for each month:
January - Garnet
February - Amethyst
March - Jasper
April - Clear Quartz (Diamonds are much too expensive)
May - Emerald
June - Pearl
July - Onyx (Rubies are much too expensive)
August - Peridot
September - Lapis Lazuli (Sapphires are expensive too)
October - Watermelon Tourmaline
November - Citrine
December - Turquoise

Mother's day is coming up fast. These make great gifts for mothers, MIL's, grandmothers, aunts, best friends....anyone, really!!! And they don't have to be worn as necklaces! They also make great ornaments to hang anywhere. I plan on making one for me for my rearview mirror. I think it would look great! Anyway, thanks for looking! I hope to hear from some of you soon for orders! Thanks again!

Banner 1.jpg

Sort:  

Love them great imagination you have. Beautiful they are. Just thinking here, a bit bigger to hang in a window with a small prism in the center would be something. Oh well, enough for now. Keep up the good work. You are wonderful.

Love

I actually made a few larger ones as suncatchers just a few days ago! I didn't think about putting a prism in the center. That's a great idea! Love to you!

Glad to be of help with ideas. Any thing to help a neighbor.
Love

Hey! I just wanted to let you know that I linked and mentioned this article with proper accreditation in my most recent post! Hopefully it helps you get some exposure! Have a good Sunday!

These are really nice!
My OCD nature tends to like the ray lines more than the scattered ones, but that's just me. :-)

I like making them all! I'm considering trying to make pictures (simple ones) with the stones in the right order. I don't know. We'll see. Thanks for stopping by!

Do you know whether hoop earrings might make a suitable frame for this kind of project to ensure a uniform round shape, or do people seem to prefer something a little bit irregular all around as part of the motif?

The best bead and findings organizers I have found yet are at the Dollar Tree in the hardware section.

I've never tried! I bet though would hold their shape really well though. As it is I use 18 gauge wire wrapped around something circular to shape the wire and hold it in shape while I make the bail. It's after I take it off and begin adding the thinner wire and adding stones and securing that wire that it begins to lose its shape. I kind of like how it moves the wire. It adds a bit of naturality to the work.
I've never thought about looking at dollar tree! Thanks for the tip!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 66795.37
ETH 3087.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72