You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Halloween 2018 Open Medium Contest - 20 shares SteemBasicIncome as Prize

in #halloween6 years ago

So, I just discovered that you've edited several of your previous comments since I responded to them.

Regardless, thank you for this considered response. Hopefully this will allow us to have fewer misunderstandings.

A couple things: the reason I don't think your critical thinking skills are serving you well is that you brought up social justice out of the blue (this is when I first responded to you), as if you thought someone's being offended by a gruesome display was somehow related to social justice. Your critical thinking skills led you astray.

There are points where we agree as well, e.g. I also hate it when "Nazi" is misused.

There are many things you say that I think need to be addressed, but for now, I'd like to just address the first of your examples, because it propagates a falsehood.

Passing laws to imprison or fine people for not using the proper pronoun.

If you're referring to some bill or statute that I don't know about, apologies, but if you're referring to the anti-discrimination bill that aims to protect the rights of seniors in long-term care facilities, then you're misrepresenting the California bill. I think it's important to correct you here, because when you advocate for the defeat of these bills or pass along misinformation that will cause others to vote against these bills, your actions have real world harmful impacts.

There IS a bill to protect people against discrimination. I'll quote an article that talked with an expert:

Courtney Joslin, a UC Davis law professor, said the bar for criminal prosecution would be extremely high.

"The bill is very, very clear that what is prohibited is the willful engagement and repeated engagement in discriminatory conduct against LGBT seniors. So, if someone makes a mistake or doesn’t know what a person’s gender identity is and uses the incorrect pronoun that is not a violation of the statute," Joslin said.

Willful and repeated violations alone wouldn’t lead to criminal prosecution, Joslin added. They would likely be punished with a fine.

Criminal charges would only follow, she said, if the violation reached a level that was shown to cause the risk of death or serious physical harm, in accordance with state’s existing penalty structure for health and safety code violations at long-term care centers.

We're not even talking in the bill about everyday folk bullying trans people. We're talking about people whose job it is to help them who choose to hurt them.

Sort:  

I won't interefere in y'alls discussion, but I have a basic introduction to critcial thinking here:
https://steemit.com/thnking/@stevescoins/critical-thinking-and-human-governance-4-links-togehter-again

I am a Constitutionalist (my bias), and Deva (@dwinblood), as far as you can bracket him ;>, comes closet to a libertarian. Part of the critical thinking process is understanding your own biases. Critical thinking processes have been a large portion in both of our writings here on Steemit.

Anyway, I return to the Halloween contest, now that I've set myself two days back in curating it ;)

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01