My Hairstyles: MOHAWK, What it is and how/why I cut itsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #hair7 years ago (edited)

Some time has already gone since my last hair cut. So long that the mohawk I cut myself isn't distinguishable anymore.

enter image description here

That means it's time for a trim! ✂


But before I show the end result I'll give some quick info:

As can be deducted from the headline (my hairstyles), this is the first part of my series in which I'll go through all of my hairstyles along my life. Most of them naturally occurred since the early adolescence because it is the time for when individual's self expression starts to take place, hairstyle being one of the ways of it's emergence.

Along showing my hairstyles I'll tell about the stories tied to them and my personal development and thoughts about them. So let's start with the first one that is my current one.


Mohawk


Long styled mohawks are usually
associated with the punk movement

Mohawk is a style in which the sides of a head are shaven or kept short with a stripe of noticeably longer hair going form the top of the head to the nape.

The name originally derives from the native American Indian nation, 'Mohawk', who lived in Mohawk Valley in New York. While they actually didn't wear the hairstyle of today's mohawk, but a square on the middle of the crown of their head, the association with the hairstyle came along Hollywood, more specifically from a movie Drums Among the Mohawk.

Some Historical Uses


Paratroopers of the 101st
Airborne Division in 1944
  • A style similar to mohawk was actually wore among Pawnee Indians who historically lived in Nebraska and Kansas.

  • Some use cases of similar styles have been known from other cultures such as Scythians (ancient Iranian people) and Cossacks (East-Slavics).

  • During World War II some US. paratroopers wore short "war mohawk" for its intimidating look.


Source
"The evolution of the mohawk"


But where I did I get the idea of cutting myself a mohawk?

Source
Rocking the "frohawk" in the space, (the name comes from 'afro' and 'mohawk').

Some inspiration must've come from Naomi's character in "The Expanse" series. I found some pictures of the actress', Dominique Tipper, from her IMDb (Internet Movie Database) page where he wears the mohawk outside of her character too. It's a great look on her!

Some inspiration came also from the series "The 100" with bad ass hair styles that I saw with some of the characters.

~


But without further teasing here's the end result:


enter image description here

First, I created a guideline near the front corner of my hairline

...featuring toilet...

and shaved the under part continuing all the way to the back of my head creating a smooth and round line between the shawed part and the mohawk "stripe". Then repeating the same with the other side.

I used this shaver that has an adjustable shaving length:


It's quite functional

I also snapped some length from the top of my head (with vertical scissor cuts) as I had some irregularly longer part of hair, but not touching the hair right on the front.

Some trimming was done for the back to get a nice smooth progression from the short nape hair to the longer hair to my crown. Though the fading isn't perfect (hard to do it alone), but it's good enough for otherwise I'll spend hours trying to smooth it to perfectness accidentally shaving all of my hair off.

For the end here's an after before comparison:

enter image description here



Much sharper, eh?

Until next part!


Pics that weren't mine or sourced: 1, 2

Sort:  

It looks ace, @celestal! Agree with @arbitrarykitten, you have the perfect facial structure to rock a cut like this. I must add that you are a brave man for doing this yourself, however... is there any other way to get a Mohawk? For me going to the stylist to get it done is like getting anesthetics to get pierced! So kudos on the DIY attitude ;-)

Thank you!

is there any other way to get a Mohawk?

Well, you can shave from down to up and find the line that way but I'd say it's much harder to create a nice round shape like that. There's also the danger to go too high that way. You could also use scissors and leave more length to the sides and potentially fade it with the top. But I can't figure many more DIY ways. Except plucking the hair one by one, like some of the Indians did, though that would take some time.

Easiest way is just to get it done by a barber; they should know what you'd be getting at if you said you wanted a 'Mohawk', the width of the stripe should also be adjustable by personal preference.

But I've been a DIY-guy what comes to my hair for a long time now so I'd actually be afraid to give it to someone other's hands 😅

Oh, almost forgot the dutch mohawk braid for long hair that can be done without shaving sides:

Looking good!

This is not the case for every man who shaves the sides of his head, but it looks better on you after. You have the perfect face for the 'Hawk :)

Thank you!

Before cutting I anticipated I could do justice for the style and I was right!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by celestal from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57614.45
ETH 3097.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57