Mizu No Oto Haiku Contest entry, Week #01

in #haikucontest6 years ago (edited)

This is my entry for week one of the Mizu No Oto - Every Image Has Its Haiku Contest created by @f3nix and hosted here by @bananafish and @marcoriccardi. The contest is to write a haiku inspired by an image prompt (shown below).

Twin eternities
A single wound in the weave
That is our hero


Image by @f3nix

Thanks for reading! :D And thanks @f3nix, @marcoriccardi, and @bananafish for the fun event! The mighty bananafish also hosts a story writing contest each week called the Finish The Story Contest, the most recent incarnation of which can be found here. Partipants are given the beginning of a story and then encouraged to finish it any way they like. It’s a lot of fun, and supported by a great community! I highly recommend it to anyone who enjoys writing or just wants to read some awesome short stories! :)

Sort:  

Invoking symbols to suggest an unconscious realm... Upvot'd.
Interest'd.gif

Many thanks @theironfelix, both for the feedback and the cool WarioWare art! :) I’m enjoying this contest and seeing the different creative ways people interpret the image.

@ediblecthulhu - welcome! I also like what I'm seeing as well in this haiku contest.

Welcome to the Mizu No Oto contest!
Your haiku is very good! It transmits many of the feelings that are associated with this poetic form, suggesting things istead of saying them openly.

Many thanks bananafish! :D It's been years since I tried writing any kind of poetry. I had fun with this though, and I'm enjoying the other entries! Thanks for the contest and the feedback!

You're welcome, we look forward for your great fiction stories too 😉

I’ve been missing the short story competition! I’m hoping to get back to it next week!

Great haiku! Your lines made my mind go to thinking of the Lady in the Lake. (I acknowledge that my thought patterns are a bit random. 😁)

Thanks very much @brisby! :D I can definitely dig the Lady in the Lake connection, perhaps partly from the alliteration of "wound in the weave" (Lady in the Lake, Sword in the Stone, etc) and also with the word "hero" thrown in there. It's a cool photo. I was struck by how isolated the red pole looks out in middle of the water. It's at the very center of the image, and the red pops out against the pale sky and water (love that its intersecting both). That pole feels to me like the star of the picture, but it also looks lonely.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62956.16
ETH 2588.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74