..my 2nd Haiku.. (& this 1 is 4 · Mizu No Oto - Every Image Has Its Haiku Contest - WEEK #1)

in #haikucontest6 years ago (edited)

This is my 2nd ever haiku and entry to :

Mizu No Oto - Every Image Has Its Haiku Contest - WEEK #1

[banner created by @f3nix]

Photo for Haiku

[photo credit: @f3nix]

Haiku for the contest :


One lonely red pole
in, the chilly midst vast sea
Best companion ever


..and couldn't forget to give a big Thank You, full of potassium!! to :
@bananafish, @f3nix and @marcoriccardi, also, to all the community down in the basement ;)

(Who will clean the basement of all the banana peals!? =P)

· · Contest Introduction Post · ·

· · Mizo No Oto Contest Post · ·


Sort:  

Oooh, I like this! Now I'm thinking which is the companion. Or if this sentiment is mirrored by sea and the pole?

hahaha xD, thank You for sharing Your thoughts ^^) !!

This is a good haiku! Bravo you got the spirit.. (the banana peals are sacred to the potassium deity, no one can touch them they're like cows in India!)

x) Thank You @f3nix, it actually took me a bit of time reading about haiku and I've found that the 5-7-5 rule is not actually a 'rule'..
But, the rules for the contest are 5-7-5 so it end up being even more challenging, what I personally like =P
This is an essay about haiku I've found, if You don't know it already maybe You'll like reading it ;) : 'Why no 5-7-5'

(ohw, and cows in India are seen with great respect due to the fact that the milk they produce being able to substitute a human mother's milk if she don't have enough to feed a newborn child..)

Be rested, I'll not touch the banana peals, but the basement will soon look like an insane disco party with everybody slipping all around!..

Did I hear banana?

Yes, you're right! 5-7-5 isn't a rule, even Basho wrote haiku with more or less than 17 morae, and all the gendai (modern) haiku movement doesn't follow the syllables limit, or it follows some other limit like the 3-5-3 proposed by Keiko Imaoka for the English language, but we chose to use the 5-7-5 form in the contest because it would have been too long and difficult to explain haiku poetics for beginners... we would risk to have a lot of brief epigrammatic compositions without any relation to haiku ;)

Agree and I like the 5-7-5 composition format, both for English and my native language Portuguese, probably also for Italian, French and Spanish it might work well, it avoids precisely what You said, couldn't have said it better (..epigrammatic compositions without..) =P

(F3nix here) In fact we never said it's a rule but a suggestion.. it's way more important to understand the essence of this form of poetry. But, allow me: before ignoring the 17 on you must be a haiku poet that knows what he's doing.. I try to be humble and practice in the traditional way for now: exceeding that structure can be done because of the beauty of your verses, not because you don't know how to find a way to catch beauty itself 😉

Dr. @F3nix! You okay up there! Just remember the potassium has slight chances of blowing up by accident! That's just part of the bananafish cycle to recycle parts of its body! So remember: stay adequate!

Wise words, and I understand it is not a rule ;)
(You changed it, I saw it was a rule!! xD just jokin')

..still, I like to challenge the "set" way of thinking and view about pretty much everything, just to get new perspectives since I've carved so many things into the brain and I tend to isolate myself a lot (20+ Years trying to decipher what is truth or not..and continuing..), had to do some kind of mental exercise to be able of accepting more easily new and different points of view given the situation, and to avoid insanity x)

Due to the fact that poetry is supposed to be liberating to some degree, I think that adding some rigidity to one of the most complex and beautiful forms of poetry will only improve my abilities with grammar, force me to add new vocabulary and actually re-learn a lot about other languages and dialects, and maybe in the end some beautiful and profound haiku may be 'created' to the reader enjoyment =D

Sorry if I did something less appropriate or was not humble enough, I'm just a sikh (means more things but also, a student..) and am here learning, anyway, thank You for the comments and all the insight ;)

I hope I didn't sound too blunt, my friend. I talk for me and my experience only .. there's a whole world inside the haiku sensitiveness that cannot be reduced to "write or not within the 17 morae" and we all agree that there are way more interesting arguments about the essence of this form of poetry we could discuss about.. The haiku seeks for simplicity and it has its proper.. sound. How can I explain it? It's not a rule to play with your instrument tuned (I'm a guitarist) but if you're playing a song without tuning the result is not pleasant to your hear.. of course it can happen that you can also change the traditional tuning with a specific one (I did it many times) but.. what happens when your instrument is simply not tuned well? You're the first to stop the music because you don't like it.. is there a rule? No.. We're not adding any rigidity here, we discussed a lot about it and it remained as a simple suggestion. The dynamic is exactely the same as the suggested 500 words limit in the fiction contest. I am for freedom, especially from our own mental prisons and schemes. My project was born and eventually will grow because it doesn't impose anything (unlike many others!) and looks for freeing our creative side together. I also like to challenge the set of things and in fact the Finish the Story contest is all about that..so my friend we really don't have a case here. Hope this clarifies: keep exploring and enjoyin with us 👍

What case? I don't get it?

Congratulations @cyberspacegod! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update
SteemFest³ - SteemitBoard support the Travel Reimbursement Fund.

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations @cyberspacegod! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update
SteemFest³ - SteemitBoard support the Travel Reimbursement Fund.

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Hmm... ambiguity in the most original form: the double meaning. Upvot'd.
Interest'd.gif

Thank You for the comment, I like the way You think/view things ;)..
..and can't recall the last time I've used or seen the word 'ambiguity' being used, although We live in a world full of dualities that easily become ambiguous (imho)..

(edit) ..btw, I like that gif, and if it was made by You congrats!

Nice! You played around the kireji giving a double interpretation on what's the best companion ever, the red pole or the chilly vast sea with the pole in its midst.

Indeed, but it took me a while to find the best wording, and I try not to rhyme much because it takes some magic out of the haiku =))
Thank You wise haiku master!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63006.79
ETH 2456.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59