You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Mizu No Oto, Edition #41, English

in #haikucontest5 years ago

I'm very happy that the notations at the bottom of the post helped you get out of the creative impasse. The result is much better than the first tests, even in terms of sound and feelings conveyed by words.
I just wonder one thing: why "square" in quotes?

Sort:  

At first I was struck by geometry in the photo; shapes are often the first thing I see. (At one point I got fixated on the amorphous drying patch in the center of the pavement.) Village square means the center of the village where people meet, but in this case it is not square at all, and has a lot of curves and parts of circles in it. So I put that in quotation marks when I first wrote the haiku, thinking I would change that word the next day. I decided, however, to leave it as is.
Thanks so much for this contest. I've probably told you this already - it is my favorite thing on steem.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60181.17
ETH 2419.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44