You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Haiku of Japan 61–70 :: Collection #7

in #haiku7 years ago

Eventhough I have almost nihil command of Japanese, I very much appreciate the original (both the characters and the phonetic transcription) along with the translations (which I often find more to my liking than some older translations, hence I am tempted to call them crisp and modern). In combination with the pictures this collection makes for a treat to read, like opening the doors of an advent calender, or trying exclusive chocolates for their surprise centres. Only I am more of a word lover than a bon-bon afficcionado. Working my way through all your posts, and often out of bandwidth to leave much of a trace, so I thought I'd just mention my appreciation here. Excellent explanation of why you "need to be" accredited. (But you also earned it!)

Sort:  

Thanks for the kind words @sukhasanasister and glad you enjoyed the post. Philosophy of haiku translations change as the seasons. Not so long ago I think the favored approach was to add words, attempting to make it easier for English speakers to understand and also bring a bit of flavor of English poetry. One translator (I can't think of the name at the moment) even went as far as to translate haiku into iambic verse! My philosophy is to be as literal as possible, following the haiku poet in only hinting at things. Glad you like it :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 61420.98
ETH 3276.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47