Haiku Saturday, Round 2, Contest and Community Building

in #haiku6 years ago

Haiku Saturday

12799117_1994603654097601_6806312217006453056_n.jpg

From the blog that brought you Friday Poets and then Dead Poem's Society, now it is time to get really precious and claim the weekend in the name of verse. Yep, it's Saturday; so let's make it haiku Saturday.

Welcome to Round 2. We had a pretty small turnout last week. One person, so he will be taking home the whole SBD payout. Congrats @lazarus-wist. I will be sending that out to you once the post matures. I am really hoping more people will get involved and we can make this more of a thing.

The Rules for Participation.

  • UPVOTE and REESTEEM this post. The more people who get involved the bigger the payout and the more I can reward the participants.
  • Put @prydefoltz in your title and one of your tags should be #haikusaturday
  • Write a haiku post and drop the link in the comments below. The haiku needs to have been posted on Saturday wherever you are. Why? Because it is Haiku Saturday, don't you know?
  • Visit at least three other haiku and comment and upvote their COMMENT here. You can also upvote their post if you got the upvote power but it is not necessary. Your votes will decide the winners.
  • Wrote a haiku for another contest or challenge today; feel free to post it here too. I'm not possessive.
  • The liquid payout from this post (SBD) will be split up among the winners (those who received the most upvotes) and the most supportive participants, those who upvoted and commented the most. Get to know each other. I may write a haiku and join in on the fun, but obviously I will not qualify to share in the SBD payout.

    IMG_3367.jpg

Never written a haiku before. Start with the basic form. A three lined poem of the syllable count of 5/7/5 about nature. From there start to experiment with pivot lines and pivotal ideas. Want some help writing haiku, this may be the place to get it. In your comment indicate you would like critique and I am sure a more experienced haiku writer will help you out. I have written hundreds of them and I am happy to take a look. But please, no insistence that your haiku way is the right way. Be gentle and humble when you attempt to teach. This is English haiku after all andthere is room for variation. Senryu, hokku, and tanka is also welcome. I am no stickler for 5/7/5 but haiku should be brief and generally run less than 17 syllables in total. With tanka you get two more lines of 7 syllables each.

I will upvote and comment, to the best of my ability, on everyone who takes part having followed the rules. I should be able to get to everyone within the week. So that will be two upvotes: one for your comment and one for your post. I will do my best to make sure the upvote is over the burn-off level. Any comment or post that does not receive at least a three cent payout, receives no payout. Many of you may not know this.I really want to see the poetry community grow on steemit, not just in numbers but also in our wallets. If we are to make this happen, we have support each other. I love Japanese-inspied poetry and I am so excited to see what everyone comes up with. Ganbatte!!!

Photos are my own:)

Sort:  

Hey @Prydefoltz,
I finally finished my poem for your competition.
Good luck to everyone. Thanks for hosting a cool contest

https://steemit.com/nature/@mayliberty/prydefoltz-s-haikusaturday-wonderful-change-poetry-art

Beautiful, May:) Thanks for joining in on the fun:)

The haiku is fabulous:)

The haiku is fabulous:)

I tried to write you one, but I couldn't do it! So I wrote three, although I am only entering one. This is such a fun contest - can't wait to see the other entries!

Late Spring
Blue skies golden haze
Ocean floor in rippling clouds
Petals bloom to fall

wow! you're good, I really love these haiku I got stuck Thank you @calluna

Thank you! I use a website www.writeahaiku.com which helps check the 5/7/5 for me, but do double check it as sometimes it miscounts words :)

Some really beautiful imagery in this Calluna and I love the pivotal idea ... wave ripples as falling petals. That is genius:)

Thank you so much, I am so lucky to have quite a few cherry trees down my road, and the way the sunlight reflected on the softed petals seems to evoke the ocean, I love doing this kind of haiku, I am so happy you are doing this <3

Thank you for the competition and inspiration! Here is "Sticker Share": https://steemit.com/haiku/@michaelluchies/sticker-share-haiku-saturday-round-2-entry-prydefoltz

Yes some stickers speak the truth... that’s why we
like them.

Thanks a lot for checking out my haiku!

When the night is dark and cold, it is illuminated by a warm sunrise

@prydefoltz Hi, is that a haiku? If so, it's my first haiku and I wanted to give it to you. Can you guide me please? I promise to be applied and try to post a weekly haiku

You have the makings of a haiku ... yes. But the wording would need to be a little more pictographic ....so

a dark and cold night
illumination brings warmth
the sun rises

Not quite a 5/7/5 ... but the first line sets the scene and is literal
the second line tells a story
and the third line pivots somewhat

but what would bring this piece to the next level is a stronger metaphor. I have posted a haiku that gives example ... the link is in the comments. @calluna also gives great example ... her the rippling waves are compared to falling petals. In my haiku ... a piece of driftwood becomes a lost arm due to a play both on words and the personification of a tree. Thanks so much for joining in and please keep the haiku coming:)

thanks for the welcome, the haiku really woke up a different way of doing poetry ... I will start doing haiku and I will not stop @prydefoltz

Last minute entry for you this evening :)

5-6-5 this time - I'll manage a 5-7-5 one of these days...

https://steemit.com/haiku/@lazarus-wist/the-dance-a-haiku-for-prydefoltz

Just want to share this which I wrote when I was a little kid. 😄

My stomach is big
It can hold alot of food
Making me obese

Very funny:)

Hello @prydefoltz I know, today is not Saturday ... but I promised to do a haiku and I would like your opinion thank you for showing me this side of poetry

https://steemit.com/haikusaturday/@pedroelec/haiku-poetry

Loved the concept here, Pedro:)

Here is my contribution. Please stop in and enjoy but I do not qualify for the SBD payout on this post. I am just joining because I love haiku.
https://steemit.com/haiku/@prydefoltz/driftwood-brought-ashore-haiku-saturday-and-photography

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60256.67
ETH 2327.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46