A Superpower In 30 Days - Day 7 Sleep and Stress HackssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #hacks6 years ago (edited)

" You can eat well, exercise, learn speed reading and practice your memory but without getting a good night sleep you can't concentrate properly, it all seems foggy."

A Superpower in 30 days (5).png

" Today, we are going to explore the two most overlooked factors affecting our brain power - sleep and stress."

When Jim said that I decided to stop the video and take a deep look inside to figure out the current state of my sleep and stress management.
I don't suffer from much stress anymore due to meditation and relaxation practices I do every day, but it's a whole different story with sleep. For the last 12 years, I mostly worked during the night, and even now I sometimes work at nights on the weekend, the extra money is very nice but I am having trouble to sleep well and I get up often during the night.

Today is April 15th, and it is the seventh day of my 30-day "Superbrain" program by Jim Kwik.

In the previous 6 days, Jim shared valuable techniques and keys that improve brainpower and memory, he gave a list of brain foods and a great technique to get rid of negative thoughts.

If you want to check out the summaries and learn the tips and techniques of the 6 previous days check out these posts - Day 1, Day 2, Day 3, Day 4, Day 5, Day 6.

" I'm going to share with you my 5 hacks for a better night sleep." Was the next thing Jim said after I played the video.

"Awesome", I said out loud, "I'm going to get my sleep on point".

5 Hacks for better sleep

  1. Get the mobile devices out of the bedroom - Mobile devices are a big problem, not only are they designed to provide us with a wakening shot of Dopamine every time a notification goes off, the screens themselves emit UV light that slows the production of the sleep hormone Melatonin.
    Get off the mobile devices a couple of hours before sleep and leave them out of the bedroom.

  2. Sleep in the dark - Even just a small source of light in the bedroom during sleep lowers the quality of the sleep. It is enough that the light hits our skin to cause this.
    Keep the bedroom dark when you sleep, get some drapes to stop the light from outside and turn all the light sources off, no matter how small they are.

  3. Use the bedroom only for sleep and sex - When the bedroom is used for work or any other activity other than sex or sleep, the relaxed state in which you are supposed to be in the bedroom changes making it harder to fall asleep and reduces the quality of the sleep.
    Keep the bedroom only for sleep and sex, take all the other activities to other places.

  4. Keep the bedroom cool - The best temperature for the bedroom is at 20 - 21 degrees C(68-70 F). When the temperature is cool, the body goes into hibernation mode and that helps to get a deeper, high-quality sleep.
    Keep the bedroom cool or cool it down a little before going to bed.

  5. Exercise - Multiple studies have shown that exercise improves the quality of sleep and the best time to exercise to get those benefits is in the morning after you wake up.
    Adopt a morning exercise routine.

After listening to Jim's hack I decided to get my bedroom dark and keep my phone in the living room during sleep, I really hope it will improve my sleep.

Stress management

When you are stressed you can't relax, absorb new information and effectively solve problems. The best way to deal with stress is to practice awareness and that can be achieved through daily meditation.

Choose a style of meditation and practice it daily and it will not only lower your stress level but also improve your sleep.

That didn't come as a surprise since I started practicing meditation on a daily basis I feel much more relaxed, calm and mindfull.

Conclusion of Day 7

On day 7 Jim gave important advice regarding sleep and stress management, I am going to implement his sleep hacks starting tonight. I honestly believe that improving my sleep will help me boost my brain power even quicker.
A week has passed since I started this 30 - Day program and I am starting to notice that my concentration has improved and it is easier for me to stay focused on tasks. moreover, I started forgetting less.
All in all, I am very satisfied with my results after a week and I am really excited to see how my brain power is going to improve in the next 23 days.

See you tomorrow on Day 8.

If you want to check out Jim Kwik's "Superbrain" program and get a Free masterclass go to this
Un-affiliated link.

Thank you for your time.

With love.

Eugene

COVER with your saying@1x.jpg

Sort:  

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63950.69
ETH 3311.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.92