A Superpower In 30 Days - Day 2 - Remembering ListssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #hacks6 years ago

" People often ask me to remember 30-40 random names out of the audience and I can repeat them front to back an vice versa. In this lesson, I will teach you how you can do that!"

A Superpower in 30 days (1).png
Image

With this statement, Jim Kwik opened the second lesson of his 30-day "Superbrain" program.
I started this program on April 9th, and today on April 10th, I want to share with you the summary of the second lesson in this course and it is about an easy way to memorize lists.

If you want to follow the course from the start, check out my post on the first day of the course here.

" Let's start with checking your ability to remember a list of 20 words," said Jim at the start of the class.

He started saying random words that I had to try to remember, not only the words but the order of the words.

"sun,socks,trafficlight,car,star,soda,rainbow,octopus,cat,toes,ski,roses,with,gold,money,candles,magazine,truck,golf,fox" as Jim was saying the words I struggled to remember as much as I could.

Then Jim asked to write down the words can recall on a piece of paper.
All I could recall were 7 words, I wrote down "sun,socks,trafficlight,roses,gold,truck,fox".
Not a very promising result.

"By the end of this 15 minute lesson you will remember that list!" Jim said.

"Okay" I said to myself skepticly and continued watching the video.

Basic Association

The technique to use to remember lists is called Basic Association, you create a logical connection to the words or number you want to memorize.
The first word on the list Jim gave is 'sun', to remember that 'sun' is the first word we need to make a logical connection between the word 'sun' to the number one. Just think about our sun, we only have one sun.
The next word to remember is 'socks' and we need to create a logical connection between the word 'socks' and the number 2, of course, we put on 2 socks every time and the connection is made.

All the words on the list Jm gave had a pretty simple logical connection to their number and after making a logical connection the second time Jim asked to write down the words I got 20 out of 20.

Now that is one serious improvement.

Conclusion of day 2

This technique is very useful but after the lesson, I still feel that I don't really understand how to use this technique and I still need more explanations.Luckily, this is just day 2 out of 30 and I know tomorrow everything will become clear.

I will share my progress daily so be sure to check out my blog tomorrow for the summary of day 3.

I'm seriously excited.

If you want to check out Jim Kwik's Superbrain course and a Free masterclass go to this
Un-affiliated link

Thank you for your time.

With love.

Eugene

COVER with your saying@1x.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60003.48
ETH 2309.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49