The Old Dog Discovers: A Steemit Solution To An Annoying YouTube Problem!

in #hack7 years ago

YouTube No Longer Allows You To Play A Video In the Background?


Image Credit: pixabay.com


Yes YouTube no longer allows me to play a video in the background while surfing other sites on my iPad! I researched the problem and couldn't come up with anything but I noticed that YouTube videos embedded into Steemit blogs worked fine. So here's a quick fix for that using your Steemit blog! 

It's a weird work around but it does the trick!


Questions To Consider!

  • Have you noticed this change with YouTube?
  • Do you like to play things in the background while you work or play?
  • Do you have a better fix for this problem? If yes what is it?
  • Would you like to see Steemit offer a different video hosting service?


I hope that you enjoyed this "Steemit Solution To An Annoying YouTube Problem!"


Until next time,


@kus-knee (The Old Dog)

Remember, I reward the best comment(s) on each of my posts with my "The Old Dog is Throwing You a Bone" program! So please re-steem and follow so that we can spread the wealth!     

Sort:  

I've noticed that when I pull up a Youtube video on my phone that I simply want to listen to, and not necessarily watch, if I shut my phone screen off to save power it stops the video. That seems dumb to me. Sometimes I just want to hear a song and not watch the corresponding video.

Yes it used to keep playing for me but it appears that for whatever reason YouTube doesn't want us doing that anymore!

Hey can you check my comment below, it might fix it.

If I'm not mistaken, they did it on purpose. The idea was to enable background jukebox for YouTube Red members only.

Upvoted

@shayne

That would make sense. Thanks for the info! Following you too!

The Old Dog is Throwing You a Bone For Your Nice Comment!

Please check your wallet!

Remember: I reward the best comments on all of my posts so continue to follow me and tell your friends!

Did you try viewing youtube on a separate tab of your iPad's browser, or is it when using the youtube app that it won't let you also browse?

Every which way is a no go! I view it in the browser. They seem to have disabled the option of having it in the background a few weeks ago. My research has revealed that the problem is universal.

Hmm. Wish I had some advice for ya. If it's a universal problem, surely they are working on a fix?

When it's working, can you speed up videos on youtube on iPad? I can't seem to find the option on samsung tabs.

I have been hearing about a few people saying You Tube isn't as good as it was or there are problems with it. Hope its not a permanent thing

The Old Dog is Throwing You a Bone For Your Nice Comment!

Please check your wallet!

Remember: I reward the best comments on all of my posts so continue to follow me and tell your friends!

Thank you so much, that made me smile :)

Yes, well, it's a small thing really and I found a solution!

Then you are very clever :)

That is anything. I often listen to things in the background. Steemit video would be great. Another entry point to the site!!

Oh I saw that too!! Something to consider!!

Thank you very much!

My pleasure! Keep Steeming and we can all succeed together!

Have you noticed this change with YouTube? I keep getting a nag notice to update to new and faster youtube which I have not done. Sooner or later they will force me > I'm sure of it. But I haven't notice anything different lately.
Do you like to play things in the background while you work or play?
Yes and I usually do to catch up on my many subscriptions.
Do you have a better fix for this problem? If yes what is it?
I don't know about the ipad but i run youtube on another tab and it works fine. Sorry I am more of an artist than a geek. No help from me. :(
Would you like to see Steemit offer a different video hosting service?
YES I would switch in a heartbeat from youtube and it's only a matter of time til something comes along

It also runs no problem in the background on my iMac! We're glad that your an artist but I think that your a pretty good geek too! :)

Me a geek? I wish!

nice creative workaround . . . .& bitchute will kill the youtube star lalala

Looking forward to seeing what's bitchute can do!

It's a good workaround, but haven't actually encountered this problem... must be limited to mobile devices, only... I'm always streeming a YouTube playlist in the background on my laptop and it just keeps going and going... in fact, it even keeps my laptop from entering "sleep" mode.

Yes oddly it works on my iMac but not but not on my iPad. @libert (below) just sent me another solution so I'll check it out!

@kus-knee Yes I have a simpler solution.


For Android (Tested), I came across this on Android Authority.

  • Go to settings >> applications >> YouTube app >> open by default >> open supported links, set to 'Ask Every time'.

Note : there might be slight difference in the options depending on the rom and Android version you're running.

  • Now, open chrome browser >> go to the YouTube video you wanna play >> select desktop site from three Dot menu at upper top right corner >> now, directly press home key >> You will see chrome media player would be paused in notification panel, open notification panel and hit the play button. That's it YouTube will start to play in the background, also with screen locked.

For IoS (Not tested) :

Source: https://www.igeeksblog.com/how-to-play-youtube-videos-in-background-on-iphone-ipad/

  • open safari browser.
  • Go to to the YouTube website and select video you want to play and tap on play button (if it asks you to open in YouTube app, tap on cancel)
  • now press home button, video will pause automatically.
  • Swipe up from down to bring Control Center.
  • Tap on the Play button, and your video will play in background.

Feedback is welcomed.

The Old Dog is Throwing You a Bone For Your Nice Comment!

Please check your wallet!

Remember: I reward the best comments on all of my posts so continue to follow me and tell your friends!

Thanks a lot I'll definitely check it out!

I hope you will 😊

The second one that you mentioned for IoS is what worked for me up until they disabled it a few weeks back. It not longer functions.

Can I get your steemit chat username? I have got another solution but since I don't have IoS device I can't check it.

If it works I will post an article, so everyone can get benefit from it. Hoping for positive reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63071.06
ETH 3121.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84