Hey Ned... Would it be cool to add this to steemit.com?

Shnjabs+rolled+a+random+image+posted+in+comment+36+at+_f25035af437de940feeb78a2516f46b7.jpg

I keep seeing this amazing thing @ned - it is so fantastic in my opinion that I cannot keep quiet about it... So, I´m just going to paste a link here - in my opinion it should expand like a youtube-video does:

https://www.bitchute.com/video/gh9C2sUxYiE/

I bet even @sneak would like to have this available on his phone as well, too bad the video does not expand, right? - Big shoutout to @bitchute who promotes STEEMIT from the link above, which... should expand like a youtube-video as I said, but it does not... (yet).

So what is this?

  • It is called WebTorrent
  • It is Streaming videos delivered directly to our browsers
  • Combined with STEEM(IT) it could become the YOUTUBE KILLER
  • Onboarding all the frustrated youtubers who are used to making money on their videos would be perfect timing right now.

Why don t I just make my own website and embed WebTorrent myself?

  • Well, I could do that - but if the videos are not playing on other STEEM-based front ends, it becomes pretty useless.
  • You would just see a lot of posts containing links like the one above, that should expand like a youtube video.
  • No reason to build something that will just look good one place and not everywhere, so I´m calling out.

It is kind of shit to have to post a youtube-link here when we have a p2p open source alternative like the link above, but here goes:


Sort:  

no other video service can kill youtube because of all the traffic youtube videos can get from youtube, if the publisher does not care about traffic.. then yes

Youtube is losing advertisers and punishing their content creators every day. People are already looking for an alternative and many are migrating to Twitch instead.

only youtube has youtube traffic and viewers for my content without me doing any promotion. I would be wasting my time to publish videos on a platform that does not have traffic like youtube. Those publishers who are complaining and running away instead of adapting to the new environment, they will lose time and energy on those other platforms.

HEre is a few points you seem to be missing:
1: youtube gets the trafic only for aslong as both viewes and publishers still use it, if - say - enough publishers starts uploade to another serveice and make sure the audiance knows it, they wil follow.
2: yes you can adapt, but then you fall pray to being manipulated into being just like mainstream media and TV. To have a more free and unbiased video sharing platform, you dont want the regulating and manipulating youtube now does, being why people are looking into alternatives.
And 3: Blockchain and torrent technologys is the perfect decentralisation solution and the solution to the problem of server capacity limits/computing power.

those looking for alternative should leave youtube, because youtube does not need their content, I have a youtube channel that earns me thousands per month, and there are many more publishers like myself on youtube who are doing very well, if 10% of youtube publishers leaves because they don't want to adapt, that's good for youtube not having to deal with "hot heads" anymore

With all due respect, @craig-grant - You run a youtube-channel about bounce houses, waterslides castles and toys.
Screenshot 2017-04-30 14.54.18.png

Nothing wrong with that, I love waterslides - but I also love news, documentaries and history. I am sure you too want to know something deep from time to time, but right now there is a war against information going on. You may not be able to find the information you are looking for in the future because of it.

advertisers who dont want their ads being shown on that kind of content have every right to pull their ads.. i agree with them and see their point of view, the world is much bigger and better than politics

these advertisers does not represent all advertisers. They represent a group of established brands and government programs (like the army recruitment program). This advertisement boycott is extremely politically motivated and very one sided.

I forget who said it, but it goes something like this...

"Content is king"

Yes YouTube itself a search engine and world Rank 02 site so for videos you only can get huge traffic from YouTube.

I like the idea, it would be nice to see youtube become dead to us!

there are drones of youtubers looking for real alternatives right now. And all we need to do is implement something that is apparently extremely trivial. Could even help the onboarding process further by having a "upload your video here" button. I am pretty sure it will be useful, look how fast it is.

I couldn't agree more! I reached out to them via twitter and they said they've been talking to SteemIt. I need to check back in with them!

I agree, its a perfect opportunity to give displaced youtubers a comfortable home and introduce them to cryptocurrency.

Yes absolutely @fyrstikken, we need video publshing directly on our platform ! I like many have seen the politicalised agenda of Youtube and see the disgusting methods concerning closing truth tellers mouths while promoting pro establishment narratives !! Time for Steem to get in the game and kick Youtube in the nutz ( Steem On Brother Fyrst !

A YouTube Killer hey!?! That could be very very good for us and an extremely powerful and empowering tool for the world right now... I'd love to see this happening here.

Thanks for the information, namaste :)

I had a dream last night of a youtube Steemit killer too! We must receive the same brain waves from the collective unconscious mind! That is so cool. That is so cool :) So glad it was you that articulated it @fyrstikken - I am going to resteem this and tell all my family too ... even my mother who doesn't know what Bitcoin is! Steem on big friend - even though I call you potato head sometimes - don't worry, my head is shaped like a potato too!

Onboarding all the frustrated youtubers who are used to making money on their videos would be perfect timing right now.....

exactly! !

YO FYRSTIKKEN! Just added you to my vote bot @ 100%! Keep up the good work, love reading your shit!

I am glad you like what I make, I´ll try not to be boring :)

The chances for that are so slim it actually reminds me of fyrstikk.

This is a great Idea. Good to see people coming up with things like this. Good job @fyrstikken

This would be the way to go!

Good idea i would support this 100% - let's make steemit amazing (again)

Amazing your post @fyrstikken
Resteem

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64549.55
ETH 3170.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13